Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Breakfast Yummers

11 Comments

Have you ever had Coffee Soup?

Ever heard of Coffee Soup?

Outside my parents’ home, I haven’t. But it’s good stuff. (I’m really curious whether it’s a Spess family thing or if other people enjoy it, too.)

When I was a kid, Mama fixed a big breakfast every day of the week except Sunday. We had pancakes, Squaw Bread, French Toast, eggs–fried or scrambled–and, of course, biscuits and gravy. Kids who rarely ate breakfast at home loved it when they stayed all night with us.

Of course, some of them ate breakfast weird, even with us. They’d do strange (to us) things such as putting peanut butter on their pancakes and powdered sugar on their Squaw Bread instead of syrup, like us ‘normal’ people.

When we had biscuits and gravy, though, most everybody ate it the right way. Oh, some had their biscuits upside down instead of the *right* way, but we understood that some people were just different.

The one thing that seemed to blow every kid’s mind the first time was Coffee Soup. For it to turn out right, you just about have to start with the biscuits my mama made. No fat in the bread makes it a little denser and more likely not to fall apart–necessary when you make Soup. (I tried it once with a canned biscuit. Yuck!)

Here’s what you’ll need:

One coffee cup
Hot coffee
Hot biscuit
Cream, Half-and-Half or milk
Sugar

Break the biscuit up in the coffee cup. Add coffee to barely cover the biscuit, then a spoonful of sugar and enough milk to make it a delicious tan color. Taste. If it’s not sweet enough, add a little more sugar.

Eat it up with a spoon. Try it next time you make biscuits. You’ll be surprised at how good it is!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

11 thoughts on “Breakfast Yummers

  1. this is going to come as a shock, but I have never had coffee soup! Seriously. It was offered to me several times as a kid, but I never took Dad up on it. I love coffee, but just didn’t think it sounded good. Guess I should have tried it at least once! Cindy LOVES it , if I remember correctly. And she wasn’t as crazy about coffee as I was either!
    LY

    • Oh. Wow. I’m so sorry you were deprived. Coffee Soup is always best if Dad makes it for you the first time.
      Come stay all night with me and I’ll make you biscuits, gravy AND coffee soup. I promise you’ll like it. 🙂
      LY2

  2. The only thing that belongs in coffee is a spoon!!!!!! 🙂

    Biscuits and gravy are legally and morally eaten anyway one desires.

    Peanut Butter on pancakes or waffles is the only way to fly, especially if small amount of black pepper is applied over syrup. Course I don’t eat them anymore cause syrup does weird things to diabetics. 🙂

    • Aw, come on, Larry. Tell us what you really think. 🙂
      I love peanut butter and syrup mixed up and eaten with a cracker. I might have to try the black pepper over it. (Don’t they have diabetic syrup? Seems as if they have diabetic everything else.)

  3. Omg. Lisa Ann I can’t believe you never ate coffee soup. Maybe you really were adopted!!! It is the very best. I miss all those great breakfasts Mom used to cook. I’ve cooked them for years, but never can quite master it.

    • They never really taste the same, do they? Not even if you’re in her house, using her pots and pans.
      I think her main ingredient was the love she had for us.
      Just guessing.

  4. Susan, the sugar free syrup is like water, so I just have to abstain. 😦

    Remind me to tell the story of gravy and cake. 🙂

  5. No way on chocolate gravy!!!!!!!
    As a deprived child, growing up in early 40’s and 50’s, when we went to Grandparents on Dad’s side, all the men ate first, then the women and then the children got left overs.
    You got your food quicker if you just picked out a plate that was already used by someone ahead of you.
    Of course there may have been leftovers on that plate, but it was all in the family.
    Smears of gravy was always left and you just piled food on top and ate that way.

    Judy and I ate at a cafeteria in Sand Springs several years ago and they had a nummy chocolate cake for dessert. When I went back through line, with clean plate, I dropped a spoonful of gravy on my plate and set the cake ON TOP of gravy.

    The server looked at me in a strange way? 🙂 Imagine that?
    We went back several weeks later and I did the same thing. The same server brought a co-worker to our table and said “Here’s the dude that has cake and gravy” Didn’t bother me as long as they didn’t eat off my plate. 🙂
    Ask Sharon about her description of my plate, although don’t believe a word she says. 🙂

    • Wow. No wonder Judy married you. She’s guaranteed never to get bored. LOL.
      I knew about the kids eating last (Dad tells us every time we’re all together) but never about eating on dirty plates.
      Uh . . . yuck.

  6. The plates weren’t “dirty”, just used like an automobile. All broke in, cared for by a loving, previous owner. Few scratches and dings, but otherwise great to use right away.
    Besides that, one got to taste previous “flavours” 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

