Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Why I Do

8 Comments

Did you know I’m a writer? I mean besides this blog. LOL. I write romance. (Really! I do.)

I’ve sold two books. I’m not sure how many of each one has sold–neither one has been in danger of making me a best-selling author–but I know my kids all have one. And my sibs. (My kids haven’t read it. I’m not sure about all my sibs.)

Did you ever wonder why you do what you do? Sometimes I do.

I’m sure about one thing–I write because I’ve always loved reading. A lot. And when I’m not reading and my brain isn’t full of something else, I’m entertaining myself with a story I’ve made up.

I’m working on a different kind of book these days. I call it Christian Women’s Fiction. (Aka–inspirational romance) Kind of a change from what I wrote before. In it, private things are kept, well, private. And I can talk about where my mind goes in real life.

In times of joy or trouble, I rarely think about the physical. Mostly I’m hollering, “Help me, Jesus!” Or, “Thank you, Jesus.”

I found out early on, you can’t write that in a regular romance novel. It might insult some of the more religious readers. (I don’t get that one, since they are reading it, but ours is not to reason why . . . ) Or maybe it’ll insult the non-religious readers. (In My Opinion: They could use a little God in their stories.)

Right now, I’m taking a story I wrote last year, and using it to make a whole new story. A story where the people act like the people I know. Maybe they’re a little nicer than I am or have different opportunities, but I don’t read books to hear an echo of my life. I read to see how real people could live and truly love life.

And I want to write the stuff I like to read.

My characters aren’t Goody-Two-Shoes. They’re too boring, and I’m not sure I’d know what those characters are all about, anyway.

I’m trying to write about real people who live and love and learn what life can be like. And yes, there’s a spiritual aspect to it.

So that’s why I do what I do.

Now a request: I’d appreciate your prayers on my behalf. Not that I’ll get rich and famous, but that I’ll keep going if this is God’s will.

And if it’s not, would you ask him if He’d let me know?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Why I Do

  1. i’m a kid! i’ve read your books! and they were GREAT! (i will also be praying that you get rich and famous.)

    • And I LOVE having you as one of my kids! You fit this crew just perfectly.
      I don’t think my kids of the male persuasion have read it. (And that’s okay.) I’m thrilled you like them.
      Please, do pray! (I wouldn’t MIND being rich and famous, but I want Him to get the credit.)
      Love you!

  2. Thanks for the ping-back, Susan! You humble me.

    I no longer blog at the previous site, but I would love to have you join me for a virtual cuppa at my new home: http://www.authorcynthiaherron.com.

    Your site is lovely. Blessings in your writing journey!

  3. This is a gutsy decision. Good for you. If this was what you were intended to write, then you can expect great things from it. Good luck!

    • Do you think so?
      I know God adores us. Wants us happy and healthy and to enjoy the life He’s gifted us with.
      If He wills it, it’ll happen. If He doesn’t, He’ll give me something I enjoy even more. Like a much loved child, I only have to ask.
      You’re right, I can expect great things from Him!
      Thank you so much for your comment. I’m glad you came by my world!!!

  4. Yea! You know I love to read inspirational fiction, I’m so very happy you decided to give it a try. In fact, I believe this is where God has been guiding you.

    “If He leads you to it, He’ll lead you through it”. I think that little saying is for more than trials, I think it’s for where ever He leads you.

    Love ya! Oh, rich & famous would be ok, too.

    • I have to believe you’re right, Deb. I got a ton done yesterday during a professional football game. (And Gary hasn’t watched professional football in years.)
      I got to wondering if this was the kind of story the editors are looking for. (A girl on her own has her horse go down in a barrel race, and a family takes her home, gives her a place to stay and feed her and her horse.)
      This morning in my Beth Bible study, we looked up Isaiah 58:7 (we were supposed to read 5-7, but all I saw was 7.)
      Here’s what I saw:

      to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—

      The entire scripture says, “5 Is this the kind of fast I have chosen,
      only a day for people to humble themselves?
      Is it only for bowing one’s head like a reed
      and for lying in sackcloth and ashes?
      Is that what you call a fast,
      a day acceptable to the LORD?

      6 “Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:
      to loose the chains of injustice
      and untie the cords of the yoke,
      to set the oppressed free
      and break every yoke?
      7 Is it not to share your food with the hungry
      and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—
      when you see the naked, to clothe them,
      and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?

      I’m thinking I might have had an answer. We’ll see. Keep praying for me.
      Ps: I’m not too worried about being afflicted with rich and famous. LOL.
      Hm. Maybe I should just copy this and make it one of my blogs. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

