Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Gotta Get Out

2 Comments

Have you got it? That itch to get out and get your hands dirty? It hits me every year.

Of course, it doesn’t hit me like it does my dad. He gets the urge early on. Plants potatoes on March 17th. And when one of his brothers is around, they discuss how tall this is, and how’re you doing your tomatoes this year. (Answer: Cattle panel on each side, all the way down the row.)

When I hear that talk, it starts.

I have a feeling my yen to garden is not unlike what a serial killer feels when he starts wanting to get back to his hobby. “Gotta plant it. Gotta fertilize it. Gotta grow it. I just can’t feel right until I do.”

My want started during Brad’s wedding week this year. The florist brought gorgeous, beautiful, stupendous flowers. I want to grow that!

And she brought these.

Just imagine growing that! What talent!!! (The florist didn’t grow them, but someone did. Wow!)

These came up in my yard–

–and I knew I’d be out there soon!

I woke up one morning, and saw this had magically come to life, bloomed and was trying to take over the world.

The buzz has started.

This wonderous azalea comes back year after year without so much as a bit of human help. Gotta get there. 

The glee of redbuds, wild plums and dogwoods spread across the hillsides. Oh, my stars!

Then it happened. Here at the end of The Road That Goes Nowhere.

My neighbor is having his gardens all redone and building a deck.

JUST-KILL-ME-NOW!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Gotta Get Out

  1. It’s so nice when these plants start blooming again in spring, isn’t it!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

