Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

SSMT

6 Comments

Jesus

Image via Wikipedia

 

I’m joining Beth Moore and a few thousand other women in SSMT.

SSMT stands for Siesta Scripture Memory Team.

I’ve committed to memorize 24 Bible verses this year. That’s one every two weeks.

*Gulp!*

I used to be really good at memorizing, but it’s been a day or two. Now I’m  more than just a little nervous.

Yesterday I posted my first verse to SSMT–Eph. 3: 17 & 18. Truthfully, it’s 17B & 18, just to have a complete sentence and so it’ll make sense.

Here it is–And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power together with all the saints to grasp how wide and long and deep is the love of Christ.

Why am I doing this? Because I’ve been a Christian for a long time. A very long time. And I’m hungry for a closer walk with Him. What better way to start than to “hide His word in my heart” so I can meditate on it?

I’d appreciate your prayers for my success–not just so I can say I’ve succeeded, but so that I’ll find that place where I need to be.

If you’ll let me know what you’re up to, and I’ll return the favor.

BTW: Anybody else part of the team?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “SSMT

  1. yes, i am. 🙂 my first one is “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” Thessalonians 5:16-18

    • I love that one, Jess. It’s a beautiful one to hide in your heart, too. “All” circumstances aren’t fun, but according to Beth Moore, God gives them to us for a reason.
      For me, sometimes, it’s not easy to find that reason.
      Have you picked out your next scripture? I think I have, then I change. How to decide . . . ?
      Thanks for coming by!

  2. Me too! Me too! I commented the first time you posted this, but it disappeared!
    LY

  3. i agree, some things i will never understand the reason for, hence the reason for faith (easier said than done). i have not yet picked my new one… i will soon!! :))

  4. Pingback: Worship With Me « Small Town World

  5. Pingback: SSMT #6 « Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!