Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Gotta Love Facebook!

2 Comments

I really do.

I know, it’s just a social network, but it’s also a connection to the people in my life. Friends since before my memory began, friends from school and college, friends from other towns I’ve lived in, friends I’ve worked with and know from writing. I even have friends I’ve never met face to face.

It’s kind of like building your own small town and surrounding yourself with the people you like. (At least those who are on FB.)

I have friends who started out as my mom’s friends and my siblings’.

And some of my favorites are those I barely knew at first, then I found out how much I liked the heck out of them as I read their comments.

I love reading comments and responses, even if I’m not part of them.

Much of the time I just read and don’t say much at all. Other times the only way to shut me up is to hide from my comments. 😉

When I go in a store or restaurant these days, I often see, “Follow us on Facebook” but I rarely do. It might be a way to get coupons or discounts, but I’d rather just save FB as a place to visit with friends.

If you’re on Facebook and enjoy my Small Town World, I’m Susan Spess Shay. Come by and say hi.

If you aren’t on FB, consider it. You can build your own world there. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Gotta Love Facebook!

  1. Hi Susan, I haven’t been on FB nearly as long as others, but I have been able to reconnect with friends & family I haven’t seen in many years. Sometimes I find them through their children, & it has been a really fun experience. Getting to share memories of times gone by as well as catch up on travels, new babies & grandbabies, marriages, etc. is great. Some days I just laugh out loud at the funny comments people make on FB. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

