Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Wild Wednesday

2 Comments

I went with my man to check a few wells the other day, and since it’s springtime in Okieland, I took my camera along.

Don’t you just love wildflowers? I do! They’re like a gift, straight from God. All that beauty, and I didn’t have to do a thing except enjoy it. But my dad and son killed a rattlesnake at one of the wells a few years back, so I didn’t venture where I couldn’t see the ground and a long way around.

I’m not sure what these yellow ones are. Maybe a coreopsis? Whatever, I think they must be very taste, because I saw bugs eating several of them.

 Isn’t it odd the way the same bugs like the same kind of plants? Or maybe not.

Most family like to eat the same things, don’t they?

I know the names of very few wildflowers, but I THINK this is an Indian Paintbrush.

The state planted lots of IPs along roadways here in Okieland. They make beautiful orange swaths of color, but it’s a little difficult to stop where they are and get a picture. 😦 This one was all by herself.I don’t know the name of this blue beauty, either. I’m sure I’ve heard it.

This is a blackberry.

Toward the top of the picture, you can see the fruit forming.

I love blackberries. So do chiggers. And, I’ve been told over and over, snakes.

I don’t know what these are, but God must love them because in some areas they were everywhere.

 This was sitting near one of the wells. Just abandoned there, a long time ago. See how the windshield opens from the bottom? Cool, huh?

I told G-Man it was one of Bonnie and Clyde’s old getaway cars.

He didn’t know the make or model either, but he said it originally came in any color you wanted.

As long as it was black. LOL! (I think Mr. Ford said that first.)

Anybody out there a wildflower aficionado? Care to share a few names with me?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Wild Wednesday

  1. Beautiful colorful flowers! Thanks for sharing

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!