Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

What’s Up With That?

2 Comments

Adapted from Wikipedia's OK county maps by Set...

Image via Wikipedia

Terminally Curious posting today.

Back when Baby Boy was just a year-and-a-half old (or so) we bought a pharmacy in Pryor Creek (don’t you love that name?) and moved our family seventy miles away to that town on the other side of the Big City. 

We loved the people in PC, and especially loved our church there. The people we were friends with were very loving, kind, and good to us. I still count many of them as dear friends. As much as I adore C-Town, it was hard to leave PC and come home.  

But we joined two of my sisters 

(In the picture–One of my sisters and various nieces and a nephew.)

and my brother in C-Town after many years of everyone (eventually parents AND kids) working at the store. #1 son had started college by then, so he stayed in Pryor Creek. 😦

We moved into Grandmother’s house, next door to Dad.  Two or three years later, Sister Cindy and her crew moved in with Dad. (He had four bedrooms–plenty of room for Sister C, her DH and her brood!)

A year or so after that, Pops moved to The Ford.

So check this out. Dad has six kids. Five are living near him, and he moves away? 

Terminally Curious is wondering, What’s up with that???

Okay, yes, he moved back to the town where he was born and grew up. 

Yes, he remarried and moved in with his wife.

And yes, he only moved twenty or so miles away. And he still comes to work (where most of us spend our time) nearly every day.

And comes back every week for church.

But I’m still wondering why he moved.

What’s up with that?     

Looks like he’s keeping a secret, doesn’t he?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “What’s Up With That?

  1. I love that face! I thank God every day for blessing us with our Mom and Dad.
    How did we get so blessed?
    LY

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

