Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Sunday Morning Thoughts

2 Comments

Psalm 24: 1-2 

The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it,
the world, and all who live in it; 
for he founded it on the seas
and established it on the waters.

While my walking buddy and I walked through our Small Town World this week, I used my phone to snap a few pictures of the trees. It never fails to astound me when I see the riot of colors God gives us a the end of a long, l-o-n-g summer. (This one lasted forever!)

Even after all the autumns I’ve lived there (and yes, there have been a lot of them!) I’m still enthralled with the beauty He gives us.

He knows what we need, when we need it, doesn’t He? Aren’t we fortunate to have a Father who loves us so much?

Imagine, if he didn’t really care for us, what kind of world He might have created? We might have had a world without color or scent or sound. We might have had a world (or life) that didn’t change, day after day, year after year until we died of boredom.

But our wonderful God, who has more imagination than I can begin to comprehend, gave us trees that not only shade us in the summer and protect our homes from storms, but that change from color to color to color.

Ever wonder if those changing leaves are an example of what our lives should be? Beautiful new-leaf green when we’re young (ever see a baby who wasn’t beautiful?) strong leaf green during the summer of our lives, then becoming more beautiful reds, oranges, yellows and golds as we prepare to fall from the branch.

Haven’t you known women who became more beautiful as they moved into autumn? We had a teacher in our church family who went to heaven just a year or two ago who became so much more beautiful each year she lived, you couldn’t be around her without smiling.

If she’d been a leaf, she’d have turned a beautiful, brilliant red as she drew near her reward.

By the way, do you know how to keep a leaf from losing its color? How to keep it from turning dead black or brown and shattering to pieces? 

All you have to do is press it between the pages of a Book.

I think you know the Book I’m talking about . . . 🙂

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Thoughts

  1. Susan, Love this ~ a truly wonderful post & tribute to our Heavenly Father ~ I’m sure God is smiling down on you now. You know just how to glorify God so beautifully with your words. 🙂

  2. Sharon,
    Honestly you have to be one of the nicest people in the world.
    To be very honest, I’m trying to let go and let God. I don’t always hit the mark but He’s very forgiving.
    Thank you for the kind words.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!