Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Sunday Morning

2 Comments

As I was making coffee this morning, I had a weird thought come to mind. (Not unusual for me. LOL) I was thinking about Elisha. You know, Elisha? The guy in the OT who started out with Elijah?   

I was thinking about my favorite part, where Elisha and his servant are facing an enemy army, all by themselves. The entire city is surrounded by enemy warriors and horses and chariots. (Wouldn’t it make a cool movie?) Anyway, the servant gets all nervous and, well, read it for yourself.

15When the servant of the man of God got up and went out early the next morning, an army with horses and chariots had surrounded the city. “Oh no, my lord! What shall we do?” the servant asked.

16“Don’t be afraid,” the prophet answered. “Those who are with us are more than those who are with them.”

17 And Elisha prayed, “Open his eyes, LORD, so that he may see.” Then the LORD opened the servant’s eyes, and he looked and saw the hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.

Is that cool or what? Wouldn’t it make a fantastic movie?

Okay. It’s really better if you read all of 2 Kings 6: 8-23, but this is the part that came to mind. 😉

So I’m making coffee and thinking about how our wonderful Father watches over us and protects us when Psalm 121 popped in. (It’s the one we learn on so we aren’t afraid of the dark.)

Psalm 121

1 I lift up my eyes to the mountains—
where does my help come from?
2 My help comes from the LORD,
the Maker of heaven and earth.

I had one of those, “WOW!” moments. 🙂 Is there a direct connection between the two? Did one have some bearing on the other?

I don’t know who wrote the Psalm, so I don’t know when he lived. Was it before the Elisha deal? Is that how Elisha knew they were there?

Was it written after God revealed the “chariots of fire?”Maybe by Elisha’s servant?

I don’t know, and don’t know where to look it up. Is there a Bible Scholar out there who can help?  Wanna share?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Sunday Morning

  1. Pingback: Small Town World

  2. Pingback: Chariots of Fire « God Speaking

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

