Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Happy Halloween!

6 Comments

Minnie Mouse in Mickey Mouse Works (1999)

Image via Wikipedia

Do you remember Halloween when you were a kid?

We used to wear our costumes to school and have parties to celebrate the fun day.

I tried to think of the earliest Halloween I could. It was when we lived in The Ford, way back in the day. I remember a party we had at my grandparents’ house when we all wore costumes, but I probably only remember that because of the picture of me and all my cousins in costumes. (It had to be a big picture to get all those cousins in.) 

The first one I remember for sure is the one right after we moved to C-Town. Sister Debbie and I were so excited to go trick-or-treating in our new Small Town World. And the best part was, our friends, Janie and Sally, were coming to trick-or-treat with us.

We got dressed and waited for them. It seemed as if they were never going to get there, so Mom let us go next door to trick-or-treat our neighbors, Tom and Jane.

Debbie dressed up as Minnie Mouse, with official (Minnie Mouse ears and everything!) and I dressed up as a witch. (My kids would tell you that was prophetic. Bwa-ha-ha-ha!) We took our t-0r-t bags and trailed up the small hill to the neighbors and rang the bell.

Tom was tall and slender with only a small rim of hair on his head. It seems he always had a funny tale to tell, and even if he wasn’t telling something funny, he had laughter in his voice, just saying hello. And Jane was one of the sweetest women I’d ever met. (Most women were sweet back then, come to think of it.)

They took us inside, took our pictures, talked to us a little, then let us choose something for our treat bags. I don’t really remember the treat. I do remember that they made us glad we rang their doorbell.

We wandered back home to watch out our big picture window while we waited for Janie and Sally. Finally, their car pulled up in front of our house. Then another car pulled up behind them. And another, and another, until a whole line of cars was there.

Mom and Dad’s friends from The Ford had come to C-Town to give them a surprise house-warming. Our new house, which had been empty and lonely just a few days before when we moved in, was filled with warmth and light because the great people from The Ford took their Halloween night to share their love with us.

I don’t remember if there was anything to eat or gifts, but I remember a bunch of people in our house and being very glad that C-Town really wasn’t that far from home at all.

Did you trick-or-treat as a kid? What’s the earliest Halloween you remember?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. Pingback: Happy Halloween. | Utterly Incoherent

  2. First Halloween I remember . . . Mom took my 2 sisters and me, plus 3 neighboring kids, into town and let us off at a corner to go down one side of the street, then come back up the other. (Apparently, seatbelts weren’t an issue back then.) At one house, the woman asked if we had time to go inside and let her bedridden elderly mother see us, and we did. The old lady was very sweet, oohed and ahhed over our costumes, and the daughter gave us lots of treats in thanks. I don’t remember how any of us were dressed or what the treats were, but I remember the ladies.

    • Oh, wow. If someone asked our kids in to let their bedridden mother see them now, we’d expect our kiddos to run screaming the other direction.
      We live in a very different world, don’t we?
      Thanks for coming by. Tell Bob hbd!

  3. Those were fun times trick or treating in the old town of Mannford ~ never worrying about any treats being “bad”, & always loving getting the home-made popcorn balls. Two of my favorite memories at this time of year involved the party at our church when we bobbed for apples & the School Carnival where we wore costumes. One year, my Mom dressed up as a gypsy fortune teller for a booth to raise money for the school. Of course, she knew all the kids in town & they were all amazed that she knew so much about them. When I got home that evening, I was shocked when she came out of the bedroom dressed up in her fortune teller costume. 🙂

    • You had one great mom, Sharon. Did she tell your fortune, too? LOL. Too funny.

      • Yes, Mom told all our “fortunes” ~ can’t remember mine now ~ but the great thing is that she left us with wonderful memories. The best gift she gave us was the foundation of trust & faith in our Heavenly Father and showed us the way of salvation through Jesus Christ. She & Daddy took us to God’s house each week (at least 3 times/week) & lived a Christian life daily. So blessed! 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

