Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Corn and Lobster Chowder

5 Comments

Lobster

Image via Wikipedia

My man and I have a favorite place to eat when we’re in T-Town. It’s call Kilkenny’s Pub and Grill and it’s on Cherry Street.  G-Man loves their steak, and I always order the corn and lobster chowder.

It’s delicious! And spicy. And delicious. So I decided to try to make it myself.

First I asked if they would give me the recipe. Answer? NO!

All righty, then. I thought about it a while and thought I could start with Ina’s Corn Chowder and go from there. Remember the chowder?

I’d just put in fewer potatoes, less corn, leave out the cheese and add Cayenne Pepper (about a teaspoon or so) and a few dashes of Louisiana Hot Sauce. Oh, and lobster. I’d need about a pound of lobster.

And guess what! It worked. Amazingly enough, it tasted as good (or better) than Kilkenny’s. Mine had more lobster, but like I told my man, if they used as much lobster as I did, they’d have to charge way more for a cup of it.

I might even try it sometime with shrimp. It’s easier to get in my Small Town World.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “Corn and Lobster Chowder

  1. I know what you mean about finding ingredients in small town. 😦

    I tried new recipe from Channel 2 that needed
    4oz goat cheese
    3/4 c grated fontina cheese
    1/4 c Kalamata olives
    Mannford didn’t have them, so went to your C-Town and located everything but fontina cheese. Didn’t use the olives cause way too pricey. But the recipe still turned out good with switched ingredients. 🙂

  2. Mediterranean Macaroni & Cheese

    3 cups of pasta (penne, or macaroni, or any pasta that is different)
    1tsp butter
    1/2 c milk
    4oz goat cheese
    3/4 c grated fontina cheese
    1/4 c sun-dried tomatoes
    1/4 c Kalamata olives (pitted & split)
    2 medium sized scallions (cleaned, trimmed, chopped)

    Preheat your pan or pot over medium heat for a few minutes. Add butter to the pan and when it begins to melt then start to add the milk. Heat the mixture until it has just scalded. (do not allow the mixture to boil)

    Whisk in both cheeses and blend until rich & creamy. Add the tomatoes, olives, and scallions; stir to fully incorporate.

    Add the cooked pasta to the sauce; stir and heat through over low heat.

    Serve piping hot!

    Serves 1-2 people

    To serve 3 people change the ingredient amount to the following & use a 4qt pan or pot.

    6c cooked pasta
    2tsp butter
    3/4 c milk
    8 oz goat cheese
    1 1/2 c fontina cheese
    3/4 c sun-dried tomatoes
    3/4 c Kalamata olives
    4 medium sized scallions

  3. Ohhhh, this corn chowder recipe sounds so good!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

