Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Happy October!

4 Comments

October is one of my favorite months of the world! Let me tell you why. (Knew I would, didn’t you?)

  • First, Middle Son Matt was born in October. The adorable child grew up to be a very nice, good looking, responsible guy. (A mom can’t ask for more than that.)

It’s party time!

  • The weather’s MUCH better. It’s not hot, anymore. No more three digit temps. No more sweat on my brow the moment I step out of the air conditioning. Lower air conditioner bills. And we get a little rain. (I remember once when it snowed on Halloween!)

Leaves! If the trees have any left, they change to gorgeous colors. Oranges and golds and beautiful reds. And there’s something inside me that wants to observe and enjoy and record all of it.

  • Apples. Yep, apples. I. Love. Them. Love the tart sweetness, the crunchiness and the millions of dishes that can be made with apples. No way I can name them all, but I love them fried for breakfast, baked in Tuela’s Fresh Apple Cake OR an apple pie, carameled (is that a word?) as well as juiced, warmed and mixed with spices.

Pumkins, pumkins, pumpkins! And gourds. Have you noticed how many varieties there are for sale anymore? From tiny to huge, dark orange to white and there are even some I call Monsterkins–kind of misshapen and covered with warts.

And finally (although I could probably come up with hundreds of things I love about October) I love Opals. That’s October’s birthstone, and I think they’re beautiful.

Next time I’m in Austrailia, I’ll see if I can pick up a few. 🙂

  What’s your favorite thing about October? The sports? Halloween? I’d love to know.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Happy October!

    • You’re one of the October blessing I love, Becki Sue Fred! There’s something special about the October women in my life! Glad you’re one of them.
      Love you, too!!!

  1. Happy Birthday month to Matt. We had two male blessings in October ourselves on day 22. …born 5 minutes apart. They’re a whole lot like your guy. Great, talented young men. Brant and Brett, our 43 year old babies. All of us Oklahoma country cousins.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

