Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

We Missed ♥ Kevin ♥ but we saw Fort Hayes.

5 Comments

I mentioned that G-Man and I, #2 Son and DIL  went to South Dakota this summer, didn’t I? While we were there, we went to Fort Hayes. The movie wasn’t actually made where the “Fort” stands now, but they are the same buildings and furnishings! This is the room where the crazy guy in DANCES WITH WOLVES gave Kevin his orders.

002 We must have been a little late in the season because the rope maker was gone, but the man who makes pans was there and Nikki learned to make one.

021

Nikki and the teacher.

027 Learning!

029

Tada!

They had great displays.

048

In case you’re wondering, this isn’t My Mother The Car. (Anyone remember that show?) I asked her and she didn’t answer.

Some I wanted to load up and take home with me.

051

And we got into a little trouble.

060

But Matt knew how to escape.

065

He played us a little tune to celebrate!

016Player piano being played.

I really wanted to take this home!

I really wanted to take this bench home! So pretty! But they wouldn’t let it go. 😦

I loved this wagon.

I loved this wagon, too, although I’m not sure what it was used for in the movie.  (Have you noticed? There wasn’t much I didn’t like.)

We had a great time at Fort Hayes! It would have been even better if Kevin Costner had shown up. I might have let him Dance with a Wolf. (Hey, Jazzy!)

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “We Missed ♥ Kevin ♥ but we saw Fort Hayes.

  1. Looks like a great place to visit 🙂 Glad you had fun.

  2. Cute blog, Susan. I’ve never known you to NOT have fun wherever you go on vacation. i.e. you have a wonderful outlook on life. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your good times with us. ♥
    Linda

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

