Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Thanksgiving Faves

4 Comments

Did you like Turkey Day when you were a kid? What was your favorite thing?

I know. That’s a long, long ago for some of us, but come on and try. You can do it!

Remember the songs you sang at school?

♪♫ Over the River and Through the Woods to Grandmother’s House We Go . . . ♪♫ 

♪♫♪♫ A Turkey Sat on a Backyard Fence and He Sang this Sad, Sad Tune . . . ♫♪♫♪

Remember the turkeys we colored?cartoon turkey The five fingered turkeys we drew?

1 turk

Of course, I only remember good things. 😉

We had huge Thanksgivings. Either Mom’s family or Dad’s would come to our house or next door to the grandparents. We didn’t have a house big enough to hold all of both families at once. (Or enough china and silverware.)

We looked forward to the holiday for weeks before hand. One aunt lived in Texas, and we only saw her once every year or two, so we’d get excited to see her and find out what kind of car she was driving. (She favored cars with big fins, and last I heard she still has one of the beauties.) Some aunts and uncles lived in Colorado, so we didn’t see them often in the winter. But when everyone got together, talk about fun!

Family who lived close enough brought food. The kitchen table would be full of main dishes and veggies like Green Rice and turkey and turkey dressing (aka stuffing). Grandma nearly always made hot rolls. Award winning, Blue Ribbon Hot Rolls!!! YUM!

The counter tops were usually covered with desserts, such as Apple Cake and Pineapple Cream Pie.    

I don’t remember how much work it was, because the grown ups chased us out from underfoot, and if it was warm enough we’d play outside roller skating or riding bikes or playing tag.

If it wasn’t, we played in the garage. Put a car in the garage? Who ever heard of such a thing? We had ping pong tables or pool tables, games and toys out there. That’s where Angie (our Toy Manchester Terrier) and her puppies lived. So while we waited for the yummy food, we had lots to do.

And when it was time to eat, we had so much GREAT food! So many people we loved, who loved us right back.

I don’t think I could name my favorite thing about Thanksgiving. Food? Family? Fun? All three?

How about you?

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Faves

  1. Thanksgiving and Christmas were the BEST at Grandma’s house. The house was filled with deliciousness, kids scrambling everywhere and the six son-in-laws were crowded around a small black and white TV watching football. I never made it to the ‘adult’ table but did graduate from eating with the babies in the kitchen to the hallway tables. Those were some of my best childhood memories.

  2. Oh you brought back so many memories, sweet sister of wonderful words!

    I also remember wondering not only about what our aunt’s car would be, but also, what color her hair would be!!!

    We are blessed with many precious memories.

    • Deb, I just wish I could capture the fragrances in words. Remember the sagey goodness of Grandmothers dressing while it baked? Or the yeasty sweetness of Grandmas hot rolls?heaven in the air! And, yes! Aunt Carols hair was something to get excited about! I miss those days and those people.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

