Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Oh, Wow! Oh, Wow! OOOOOOOH, WOW!!!!

21 Comments

I’M A GRANDMOMMY!!!!

Yes, I’m screaming! And I’m doing a lot of (virtual) jumping up and down and dancing on the ceiling! Because . . . I’M A GRANDMOMMY!

I haven’t shared before today because I needed permission (I do not want to get banned from baby adoring!)

And know what? He is gorgeous! Beautiful! And BRILLIANT!!!

♥ ♥ ♥

dannyThis isn’t our new grandbaby. This is our son, the baby’s daddy. Born on his due date, five pounds, thirteen ounces of perfect baby boy.

And our new little pumpkin looks a lot like this. 😀

Want to know what it feels like to be a brand new, first time, week old grandmommy? I can tell you.

It’s like . . .

  • Winning the Boston Marathon without running a step
  • as you win a jillion, million dollar lottery without buying a ticket
  • while winning the Irish Sweepstakes without even trying.
  • at the same time as you get the world best, biggest, sweetest, most coveted award for just being alive!!!

Funny thing is, being a grandmommy makes you (me, at least) kind of gah, gah. I find myself holding our little guy close to my heart and just gazing at the boy. Even his cry is music to my ears–except it usually means it’s time for him to eat. Again. 🙂

I’ve offered to go over in the night to hold him so his parents can sleep, but they haven’t taken me up on that yet. Probably a good thing, too. I think it takes young people to be what a kiddo needs.

Besides, my son and his wife have everything under control. Any question they have, they Google and find the answer. (And since my DIL’s sister is a OB-GYN with a nine-month-old of her own, anything they can’t find, Sister knows!)  Need an extra pair of arms? There’s a thing you can wrap all around you and the baby so he’s snugged right up to you and he’ll never slip. Need a place for him to sleep close by but where he won’t get squished? There’s a nest that’ll fit right in your bed where he’ll be safe.

They have all the answers!

And yes, the knitter in me has been busy, too. baby-hatBaby’s new hat! I made it a little big on purpose, so he can grow into it. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!)

baby-bootiesAnd if you believe I made the hat large on purpose, maybe you’ll believe I made his high tops too big for that reason, too! 😀

At least they’ll be there when he’s ready for them.

baby-hand-1This is Granddaddy, holding a brand-new precious hand while Daddy holds his other hand.

baby-hand-2Doesn’t it make your heart melt to see grown men take such perfect care of a newborn? (Sniff)

One more picture of my first baby boy when he was just three months old.

baby-danny

New babies are God’s perfect gift. I couldn’t be more excited unless I was twins.

♥ ♥ ♥ 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

21 thoughts on “Oh, Wow! Oh, Wow! OOOOOOOH, WOW!!!!

  1. It just keeps getting better!! It’s the ultimate blessing on earth!! Great Grandkids are even better !!!

  2. Congratulations, Susan!!! So happy for you! 😀

  3. I just finished reading this and I’m grinning from ear to ear knowing how excited you are, how precious he is. I’m so happy for the entire family. Major congrats! (Btw, he is GORGEOUS!!)

    • I don’t do a very good job of hiding it, do I Linda? Oh, well. I LOVE THIS BABY! Thanks for letting me sing his praises and not rolling your eyes my exuberance. 🙂 (At least where I could see you.) *wink*

  4. being a grandma is the best thing ever. So happy for you.

  5. Congratulations!! And YES, those beautiful, precious grandbabies are the very best thing in the world to have!!!!!!

  6. Congratulations Susan! He’s Perfect!

    • He is perfect, Pam! Some day (in the far off future when I have permission) I’ll post his picture instead of his daddy’s so you can see how really beautiful he is. Thanks for dropping by!

  7. Congratulations Grannie! I’m so pleased that you now know the joy firsthand!

    • Hi Mina! It’s so good to see you here. We waited so long to have grandkids, they have to be fantastic!!! (To us, if no one else.) I’m so glad you came by my Small Town World. Hope to hear from you again really soon!

  8. Omg!!! Congrats and blessings to all of you!!! Grandma is the sweetest title in the universe! SO happy for you, Susan!

  9. Welcome to the Crazy Grandparents Club! Lol Enjoy every minute because they grow up so fast. Our grandkids are 10 and 12 now.

  10. Wow and double Wow! I knew you were expecting a Granddoll! So happy to hear the little fellow is here! You know to really keep up with him this first year when they change and learn so many things that it’s incredible! As Grandmom Bea to 21 miracles I can tell you that you’ll enjoy ALL your blessed just as much! Congrats to you, husband, Son and new family!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

