Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

There’s a Hoedown in Town

Leave a comment

the-girlsOne of my favorite things about my Small Town World is my church family. A more accepting, loving bunch of people you’ll never meet.

Every year for the last 10 years FC3 has had a Harvest Hoedown. Our whole Small Town World is invited to the campus for games and food and fun.

Don’t you love the clowns? They’re a hoot, even if I did get splashed with a little squirt gun play. No fair. I didn’t have a gun so I could shoot back!

We have a train and ponies for the kids to ride, a big bouncy slide for kids of all sizes!

1-the-joy-of-the-lordAnd this year, there was a game of laser tag.

crewIt’s so enjoyable to see all ages pitch in and work together to serve our STW.

davidPreacher Dave even gets a little high as he tells us about our Father and His unfailing, never ending love for us.

nailsBig girls do little girls’ nails.

Great-chili-Cook!

 David Cook and his wife, Jan, make about fifty pounds of chili for us each year.

Larry Brown grills about a jillion wieners,

Larry

and somebody else melts gallons and gallons of cheese.

imagejpeg_0But the best job? The most fun of all? Serving the food and drinks! (My job.) While we serve, we get to talk to people we sometimes see only that one time a year, and catch up a little. We see kiddos and costumes, we see babies and babies who aren’t babies anymore.

Some of us get a little cold, a few backs get a little stiff, but if at all possible, we don’t miss this get together. At least I don’t. It’s just fun to get to be with friends and neighbors and God as the central reason for it all.

The Harvest Hoedown is the best hoedown of all! Of course, it’s the only hoedown I’ve ever been to. How about you? Ever been to a hoedown? What did you like best?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

