Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

♥ ♥ ♥ Here’s My Heart ♥ ♥ ♥

14 Comments

I’m so excited! I have something to tell you. (I think you’ll be thrilled about it, too.)

No, it’s not a seven figure book deal and I didn’t win the lottery. It’s better than that.

I’M GOING TO BE A GRANDMOMMY! 

I’m just a little bit excited (can you tell?) and a little worried.

gotta light danny

#1 son and #1 DIL are preggers 🙂 and they’re absolutely beautiful. (SCREAMS!) They’ve been so good about sharing with us, it’s almost like being pregnant, but better! When you’re the grandmommy, you have no morning sickness and the only weight gain is from celebratory eating. 🙂

Nicole and China

#1 DIL on the right

They went for their first ultrasound on April 1st. They said Baby Shay was bouncing like a gymnast and kicking around like her/his mama used to do on the swim team. Healthy, active baby! (I thought #1 was going to be a tap dancer before he was born.)

No sex determination yet, but we should hear soon. And yes, I was very happy to hear it wasn’t an April Fool joke!

The due date is sometime in the Fall. (October is quickly becoming my FAVORITE month of the year!) I’ll tell you more when I hear it.

Like I mentioned, I’m a little worried. I want to be the very best grandmommy I can possibly be. So I’ve been trying to figure out just what a wonderful grandmother does.

To do that, I’ve been thinking about my grandmothers–Ruby and Eva. They were great! One took me fishing, taught me to garden and be an independent woman and the other lived next door and was a second mother, taught me to cook and bake and to be a patient person. (Okay, I’m not sure that lesson took, but she tried!) I knew both of them loved me even more than their shoes!

So, I need you to tell me what a truly great grandparent does. Think about your grandparents. What did they do that made them wonderful? Or if you are a grandmommy or granddaddy, what do you do?

I REALLY need to know!

 

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

14 thoughts on “♥ ♥ ♥ Here’s My Heart ♥ ♥ ♥

  1. Yea!!!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. How exciting! YOu will be a fantastic Grandmommy! As for what Grandmothers do that last a lifetime & beyond is what both my Grandmothers did – gave me memories of love that lasted ever after they went on to Heaven. Spending time with them was some of the best times ever. The way Grandma Shoemaker made me feel like the most special person on the earth when she took the time to teach me to play a hymn on the piano to making homemade dresses for me so I could stay with her some extra time instead of going home with Momma & Daddy. Grandma Mitchell taught me the importance of her deep faith in God & to not take any medication unless I really needed it. I don’t think she even took an aspirin until she was in her 80s. They were both hard working, God-fearing & sweet women who loved God, family & friends.

    Susan, just have fun loving, laughing & playing with your soon to be blessing from above & you will be one of the best ever! Congrats!

    • Your Grandma Mitchell was my great-grandma. I remember her, but don’t remember much about her except what I heard from other people. My mama never had a grandmother, so she spent lots of time with Grandma Mitchell. I always loved Grandma for that. 🙂
      Thanks, Sharon. Love you1

      • Susan, I remember Grandma Mitchell working in the garden so much – always in a dress with long sleeves – even on the hottest days of summer. She taught me to peel an apple or a potato so as not to waste ANY of the good part – feeding a large family during the depression was sure to make her conserve every morsel of edible food.
        I can remember her fresh green beans she cooked(snapped with family members on the front porch) & how very wonderful they tasted as she cooked them & seasoned them to perfection. There were usually new potatoes cooked in with the green beans & they were one of my favorite vegetables.
        The front porch swing was a favorite gathering place for family & friends. I can picture so many members of our family swinging on the porch swing while so many of us cousins played in the front yard. Randy Weaver & I loved to climb the tree & watch everyone from high above – well, maybe a few feet above everyone els. Your Mama just had a short walk up the street to visit Grandma Mitchell. That is one of the things I liked best about the old town of Mannford – loving relatives were only a hop & a skip away from our homes. Sweet memories!
        So very happy that you are going to get to experience grandchildren ~ it’s one of life’s greatest pleasures.

        Love you, too!

  3. Susan (and) we have 10 grandchildren, five girls, five boys, and now a great grandson!! Teach them about Jesus in all you say and do!! and each will be an individual, so you have to treat that as they are!! lhp Jody

    • Jody,
      WONDERFUL ADVICE!!! And I’ve already started that! I have several scriptures I’m praying for Little Bit. 🙂 That’s the subject of a future blog. 🙂

  4. Congratulations, Susan!! I’m so happy for you! 🙂

    Unfortunately, I didn’t spend a whole lot of time with my grandmothers growing up… I was more of a Grandpa’s girl. 😉 But my grandmas will be 73 & 84 this year and I feel like I’ve been kinda wasteful with my time with them.
    Things I do remember doing with my grandparents when I was little… I remember picking up pecans with them, then shelling & eating them. I remember snapping peas with grandma, all the while she was getting onto my brother for eating more than he shelled. 😉 I remember spending the night with them & going to the grocery store. Grilling burgers, watching old movies, learning about flowers…
    The best thing, though? My grandpa died 3 years ago, but my best memories of him are when he would walk up & just put his arm around me & kiss my cheek, when he would share his chair with me, and when he would tell me “Love ya”. I didn’t realize it then that those memories would mean so much to me now…
    And my favorite memory with my grandma is when she decided to make a quilt for each of her grandkids to give to them on their wedding day. She let me pick out the pattern for mine & help her with some of the fabrics & colors. Every time I went to her house, she would show me the progress she had made. I loved that! 🙂
    I think just being an active, loving part of your grandchild’s life will help them make lasting memories that they’ll treasure for a long time. 🙂

  5. My grandma, Ella, told great bedtime stories! We called them Johnny stories (the main character in all the stories…Johnny). She also made great paper dolls out of ordinary notebook paper. We got to draw the faces and clothes. She also sewed for everyone around. She kept scraps from everything and made us Barbie clothes. We had the greatest Barbie coats and dresses! She taught me to sew and cook. She also taught me to count change from my Grandpa’s change bag from work. Every time I spent the night…which was a lot….I got to fix Grandpa’s bag for the next day at the gas station. I sure miss her! You’re going to be a super Grandmommy! Congrats!

  6. Congratulations! It is wonderful! It will be more wonderful for you since you live there. It is heart rending being half way across the country. You will not be able to know how great it is until you hold that precious child for the first time. Grand children are truly your reward. I imagine their early years are the best. Hold them close.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

