Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Bye-Bye Shirley

2 Comments

Can you believe Shirley Temple died? 😦

baby shirleyHow sad is that.

Of course, she didn’t look like a two year old anymore.4637690_l2But Baby Shirley was adorable. Wasn’t she?

Shirley Temple 18 months

I don’t know much about Shirley, so this isn’t the story of her life. I just liked her movies.

cdbef6f18c1075c63fa66b349af4a3d6

She was usually an orphan and had a heart rending life, but she had such a great attitude, everyone loved her, except the bad guy. And who wants to be loved by the bad guy?

This is from IMDB:

Shirley Temple was easily the most popular and famous child star of all time. She got her start in the movies at the age of three and soon progressed to super stardom. Shirley could do it all: act, sing and dance and all at the age of five! Fans loved her as she was bright, bouncy and cheerful in her films and they ultimately bought millions of dollars worth of products that had her likeness on them. Dolls, phonograph records, mugs, hats, dresses, whatever it was, if it had her picture on there they bought it. Shirley was box-office champion for the consecutive years 1935-36-37-38, beating out such great grown-up stars as Clark Gable, Bing Crosby, Robert Taylor, Gary Cooper and Joan Crawford. By 1939, her popularity declined. Although she starred in some very good movies like Since You Went Away (1944) and the The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer (1947), her career was nearing its end. Later, she served as an ambassador to Ghana and Czechoslovakia. It was once guessed that she had more than 50 golden curls on her head.

– IMDb Mini Biography By:  Ken Severson

My favorite of Shirley’s grownup movies was Fort Apache with John Wayne and Shirley’s first husband, John Agar.

As for her best movies, I can’t think of my favorite. I loved the one where she sang On the Good Ship Lollipop.

I loved Heidi!

http://youtu.be/dPaNtPbeuWQ

I loved The Littlest Rebel and Curly Top and all her movies.

I was so disappointed when I found out she wasn’t a little girl like me. Instead, she was a grown up lady, older than my dad!

Did you like Shirley when you were a kid?

Do you still watch her movies?

What’s your favorite Shirley Temple movie?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Bye-Bye Shirley

  1. May her memory be eternal!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

