Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Our Buddy, Buddy

2 Comments

G-Man and I had a great weekend! Friday night, we went to see Buddy Guy. That would have been quite a show, even if Buddy hadn’t been there.

It’s been a while since I’ve been to a concert. We sat on the second row, and the people around us (and who thought they should be around us and weren’t) were a show all by themselves.

On man came in and wanted to know if Row 1 was Row A. A man sitting near us asked, “What?”

“IS THIS “A” AS IN APPLE???” the man screamed.

It wasn’t. “A” was back several rows, which didn’t make him a bit happy. He wanted to be right up front. Not being right up there didn’t keep him from yelling through most of the show.

The man I sat behind had a beautiful braid. Do you know what a temptation that is? When he turned around, his beard was braided, too, and had a silver dangle on the end. Real pirate stuff!

He was with a pretty blonde. The Pirate’s Blonde had on a pair of over-the-knees suede boots to die for. Even G-Man noticed them. 🙂 Next to them was a couple I thought of as a doctor and his wife. I didn’t talk to them, but something about the pair told me they were in the health profession. Mrs. Doctor was a pretty good dancer by the end of the show.

Even though the audience got a little rowdy (who knew the Old Lady on Brady had a liquor license?) Buddy put on a great polka-dot show. (Buddy is famous for his dots. His drum is dotted, the floor when he performs is dotted, and he always wears polka-dots.)

G-Man and I both enjoy his shows. G-Man because Buddy’s music is wonderful. G-Man thinks he’s the best guitarist out there.

Me, because he comes across as a really nice guy. He doesn’t just play and sing, he talks like he’s having a conversation with a friend. He spoke about his childhood in Louisiana, the book he’d written (be still my heart!) and the people he’d learned guitar by listening to and studying their technique.

He talked about where he lives near Chicago, and his club in Chicago, which is run by his daughters. He said when he’s not on the road or scheduled to perform at the club, he goes and sits in the bar to just watch people and hear the entertainment. He even told us what he eats and about shopping for his food. No seedless melons or yellow and white corn. He wants the real thing.

Oh, and his opening act (Robert Randolph and the Family Band) was wonderful, too. Love a great steel guitar! Anybody want to loan me one?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Our Buddy, Buddy

  1. Susan, Glenn took steel guitar lessons and learned quite a bit! He got involved in working in Alaska building pump stations for the pipeline and didn’t keep up lessons!! I, too love a steel guitar!!

    • Cousin Gary got a steel guitar from Santa when I was 3 or 4 years old. I remember thinking how cool it was. I don’t think he played it for long.
      I’ve always thought stringed instruments like steel guitars, zithers, autoharps and dulcimers were amazing. For years I’ve wanted to own a dulcimer. They look beautiful and the sound is amazing.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

