Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Meeting a Brand New Hippy

9 Comments

Almost four years ago, my sister Cindy had her first grandson, and on the same day, I got my new hip.

Tomorrow, my dad is getting a new hip.

mom, dad and lindy

Think I can blame him for passing me the bad hippy gene? Or maybe I passed it to him. Who knows?

dad

Actually, mine came from accidentally doing the Chinese splits in my pond one day. (I put one foot in my pond, it took off for Tulsa and my other one stayed planted firmly on the ground near Keystone Lake.)

Dad’s is simple wear-and-tear arthritis.

Three SpessDad’s the one without a crutch in this picture.

 

I’m not sure Dad would have had his replaced, but the silly joint is slowing him down. Although he’s 21 years my senior (well, 20 1/2 years) he’s still much more active than I am.

We both work every day, but when he works, he WORKS! He works at the office, overseeing the workings of our company. He oversees our farms. He gardens, studies, travels (a lot!) and he has chickens. dad's-mower

Since he won’t be shuffling off to Buffalo for a few days after he gets his new hip, I asked if he’d like me to help out with his chickens. “You bet!” he answered, and went on to explain how to care for the hens.

And he mentioned his tomatoes and okra would need continued harvesting.

dad's-garden

I love learning from Dad day after day. Until Mom died and he remarried, he was an elder in our church. I still depend on him as a spiritual leader, even though we came to the Lord on the same day.

Sister Debbie will be staying at Dad’s house, helping out all she can after the surgery “until they throw me out,” she told me. I’m a little envious, but I’ll be making frequent trips to see him, take him the mail he needs to see and helping out in his yard and visiting his chickens. (I haven’t robbed hens’ nests since Grandma Reeves lived on the Meade place. Her chickens pecked me when I tried. We’ll see what these do.)

So if you would, keep my daddy, his wife, his surgeon and his kids in your prayers for a successful hip replacement and recovery.

Dad and the kids

God is good.

All the time.

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

9 thoughts on “Meeting a Brand New Hippy

  1. Sending prayers your dad’s way, Susan!

  2. Will do!! Love to you Sue-Sue!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Will pray for your dad; what a blessing to have wonderful daughters and Jeff to help out!

  4. Susan, please tell Carol that I am praying for a successful hip replacement surgery! I took care of my sister, Helen, after her hip replacement surgery! We had a special time together, we laughed and laughed!! It was a special time for us and we both treasure the three months together!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

