Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Longest Day

4 Comments

Of the year (not the movie) started this morning at 12:04.

I was on the deck this morning with Gideon when the sun came up. I noticed a cloud, bisecting Old Sol, and decided to snap a pic.

So I ran inside and grabbed my camera. Do you know how different the sun looks through the lens of a camera?

1sunJust the flick of a setting

1sun1

and it’s a different world. Or sun. 🙂

1sun2

Another flick and there’s more light.

1sun3The sun at night. (Not really.)

1sun4It’s closer, then it’s farther away.

Cameras are so much fun! They change the world, don’t they? (Temporarily, at least.)

1sunny4A few more shots around the longest day.

1sunnyday5Along the fence.

1sunnydayRusty the Rooster moved up on the deck in my washtub. 🙂

1sunnyday2

Lettuce hiding behind Rusty.

1sunnyday3Cucumbers blooming. (Pickles next?)

1sunnyday6And my favorite hydrangea.

The longest day of the year in our yard. Well, the morning at least. 😉

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “The Longest Day

  1. Lovely photos!! Love you Sue Sue!!

    • Becki,
      If I had my thinking cap on, I’d have taken pictures of the Super Moon, too. It was gorgeous. But, sadly, I wasn’t thinking moon pics. 😦 Maybe next time we have a SM, I’ll get those.
      Glad you enjoyed the pictures. God made a beautiful world for us to enjoy, didn’t he?
      Love you, too!

  2. I’m amazed at how fast the sun changes from the time the camera is turned on till the time one takes a photo. Watch for mine on this longest day too.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

