Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Disappearing Act

4 Comments

I’m not gone! Really, I’m not.

I’m here, but there have been a few things crowding my mornings, making it hard to get here to say hi.

queen for a dayHI!

I do my best in the morning. Best study, best reading and best writing, so I try to do as much as possible early on. And since this is Okieland, it get HOT during the day. It’s coolest in the mornings, so that’s when I like to get out in the yard, too.

1-garden-shot

Recently, I decided to do a new Bible study. “Gideon” by Pricilla Shirer. (One of my favorites from Old Testament History class  in college–“The Sword of the Lord and Gideon is upon you!”)

As I said, I do my best in the a.m. so I’m fitting that in here, too.

And then there’s work. I like to wander in there every once in a while. 😛

If you drop by looking for me and I’m not around, give me a shout. I’m around somewhere. I try to check in on Facebook at least once a day–Susan Spess Shay. If we’re not already, I’d love to be your friend. (That always makes me think of Mr. Rogers. ♪♫ Please, won’t you be my neighbor. ♫♪)

I even Twitter once in a while–Shaywriter.

Before I go, look up at the top. I’ve changed the verse I’m memorizing for June 15-June 30. Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your strength. Deu. 6:5.

 

🙂

Do you memorize scripture? (Psalm 119:11)

Want to share your favorite?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Disappearing Act

  1. This scripture was brought up years ago in a “Walk To Emmaus” weekend I attended.
    “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your strength. Deu. 6:5.”

    The teacher added and “then do as you would” Big time discussions started. We all had differing thoughts and opinions??

    After much discussion the wise teacher responded, “IF YOU” Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your strength. Deu. 6:5., you “WILL” do the right thing. 🙂 I’m still a work in progress.

    • I’m not sure where I’ve been, but I just heard of Walk to Emmaus last year. I’m still not sure what it is, what it’s about or who does the walking. Tell me more, Mr. Larry.
      BTW: What was the consensus about what a person would do who loved like Deu. 6:5?

      • This link will explain Walk To Emmaus much better than I.

        http://emmaus.upperroom.org/about

        It’s basically a 3 day, intense, bible teaching, fellow shipping, eating, singing event, full of joyous surprises, that was sponsored by the local Methodist Church in early 1990.
        No watches, telephones, outside media, just intense wonderful good time. Although I was saved on 1/4/1981, I did not realize, till I went on this “Walk”, that had I been the only person in the world, Jesus Christ would have died for me. And had I been the only person to attend the “Walk” all the people that were involved in the event, would have done it just for me.

        I don’t remember the exact opinion of all that discussed Deu. 6:5, but seemed like all agreed “IF” we Loved the Lord our God with all our heart, with all our soul and with all our strength, we would follow HIM.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

