Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Love and Hate in Okieland

7 Comments

The weather has gone back to normal here in Okieland. 😦

I was hoping for a cool summer, like the one back when I was single when we had to build a big fire at the lake to stay warm on the 4th of July. But I don’t think that’ll be happening.

decking

Even though the temps were mild this a.m. when I spent a few quiet moments on my deck, that bright spot in the pic is going to heat up my world. *sizzle*

We’ll be in the mid-to-high nineties today.

So, as per usual, we’ve skipped the long spring and zoomed right into summer. I wish I loved the heat. (I don’t.)

But I have friends who do. They enjoy the beams bouncing off their toasty brown skin. Love sweating out. Enjoy taking a breath of super-heated air. They attack the weeds in their yards, cut down trees and haul it all away without the hint of a whine.

(I’d need an entire wheel of cheese with the big whine I’d be doing.)

When it’s Hot, I really want to Hibernate. Hide out. Have a ton of quality TV time. But if I do that, everything I’ve worked so hard to plant will croak. And that’s just mean.

Are you a warm Summer Lover or a Heat Hater?

Terminally Curious wants to know.

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

7 thoughts on “Love and Hate in Okieland

  1. I’m with you – I wish I liked the heat, but I don’t….somehow the cooler weather energizes me, but the heat drains….of course, I have an extra layer of “bark” on me that probably doesn’t help!! Alaska looks pretty good this time of year!

  2. I used to love the heat, but after a bout with heat exhaustion and 5 hours in hospital being “rejuiced”, I don’t like the heat and now in my maturing years, I hesitate to like the people that like the heat. 🙂

    But I have way more “bark” than Carollea.

  3. Anything mid June to mid September makes me wilt. Although, I love not having to wrestle the kids off to school in the morning.

  4. I’m definitely a Summer Lover! 😉 Winter’s the killer season for me. Can’t stand the cold — makes me want to cuddle up somewhere very warm & hibernate until the sun comes out and the weather warms up to a nice 80-90 degrees. As soon as it starts getting warmer & I can get outside to get some sunshine, I fell so much better! 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

