Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Happy April!

6 Comments

HAPPY APRIL and April Fools’ Day!

Have you ever pulled a great AF joke? One that worked? I did. Once. 😉 But it wasn’t on AF Day. It was in August. My April Fool jokes seem to work best when I don’t pull them in April. LOL.

And this time, it was unintentional! (Imagine that.)

It happened the morning after my first book signing. I’d had a fantastic signing. Always do in my Small Town World. The ladies at my library are The Best!

But I thought I’d jazz things up a bit. So I wrote this:

THE BOOK SIGNING WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD!

My signing was more outstanding than I would ever have imagined. If I’d know it was going to be so much fun, I’d have sold a book long ago.

As I was getting ready to leave the office to go to the signing there was a commotion at the front of the building. I headed down the hall to see what was happening when everything went crazy.

Several fireman–young, tanned and muscular–lined my way to the door. When I reached the exit, I was handed up to the very top of Cleveland’s bright red ladder truck. (The one Santa rides on every Christmas parade.)

My heart was pounding so, I could barely breathe as someone handed me a glass of champagne. One of the guys rode just behind me to steady me, thank goodness. As shaky as I was, and holding the bubbly drink, I could barely hang on.

Once all the guys stopped fighting over who would get to ride closest to me and who would have to drive, they turned on the lights and siren. We drove down Main Street, and people dashed out of the stores to see what was happening. I gave them my best Miss America smile and wave as we flew past. It was wonderful!

When we arrived at the library, the truck pulled right up to the door. One of the hunkiest firemen, whose name was Sven, I believe, lifted me down and carried me into the main room. Since he only had on suspenders, no shirt, there wasn’t much to hold on to, but somehow I managed to stay upright.

Once I finished my wine, he let my feet touch the ground. My head was swimming so, it took me a moment to get my balance, but Sven didn’t seem to mind holding me a bit longer.

Then all the firemen lined up to buy one of my books. I couldn’t let them pay for them, of course. Not after that wonderful ride. When the last hunk had taken his book, and his kiss, and left the building, I settled in for my first book signing.

 It was a doozy.    

♥♥♥

I didn’t think I had to tell anyone that it was a joke for several reasons.

  • Our fire department doesn’t deliver champagne.
  • We had no firemen in C-Town named Sven. (I doubt there’s anyone in C-Town with that name.)
  • The firemen we have ALWAYS wear shirts.
  • Our fire chief at that time was a woman. (‘Nuff said?)
  • I don’t kiss random firemen–or anyone else, for that matter. 🙂

Imagine my surprise when someone believed it. One of my sweet nieces worked at the office, and the next day commented, “I must have left work too early, Susan. I missed the fire truck completely!”

What a sweetheart. I couldn’t help but laugh, even though it was sweet of her to believe anyone would go to that much trouble for a signing for my first book! (Or even my 100th–if I write that many.)

I just wish it had been on April 1st. That would be something to brag about!

What’s the best April Fools’ joke you ever pulled?

PS: Happy Birthday, Ashley!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Happy April!

  1. I was at the book signing, but must have missed Sven and his buddies….What a great April Fools joke! I was laughing all the way through it as I could imagine you on top of the ladder balancing the glass and waving! Too funny…Happy April Fools Day Susan.

  2. Good one, Susan! Thoroughly enjoyed your spoof. Allene Fisher Nelson

  3. Some wild woman…you are! (sigh) 🙂

    • LOL! That’s funny, Jonathan. I think the only wild thing about me is my imagination. 🙂 And even that’s pretty tame compared to some of my fellow romance writers. Well, except for Make Me Howl. That’s all about wild. LOL.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

