Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Is It Easter?

4 Comments

English: Easter, old greec salut Deutsch: Oste...

I saw one of those I-need-to-educate-you-silly-Christians things on Facebook the other day. It talked about some fertility goddess few people have heard of and that it (she?) was what Easter is really based on.

In that comment, even the word Easter was supposed to have come from that goddess’s name. The question is also asked in that comment, “or did you think eggs and bunnies had anything to do with the resurrection?”

I answered (you didn’t think I could keep my mouth shut, did you?) that maybe the proper name shouldn’t be ‘Easter’. (I’ve never actually seen it in the Bible any more than I’ve seen the word ‘Christmas’.) I even did a search online to see if I could find where the word came from. I found a lot of sermons, but finding the actual origin is a little hard.

The best I could find was

Easter: An Early Celebration of Christ’s Resurrection
Another idea involves the history of the Frankish church (Germans who settled in Rome during the fifth century). Their the celebration of Christ’s resurrection included the word alba, which means white (the color of the robes worn during the resurrection festival). Alba also meant sunrise. So when the name of the festival was translated into German, the sunrise meaning, ostern, was selected, likely in error. One theory is that Ostern is the origin of the word Easter.

 You can read more about it if you want.

The eggs and bunnies? They represent new beginnings. A brand new life–which is what we have when we’re in Christ. A life without blemish. Without stain. Without sin. Washed in The Blood, we’re whiter than snow, because Jesus paid the price for our sins when he died on the cross and rose again three days later.

Maybe we should just call it Resurrection Sunday.

It doesn’t matter what we call it. What matters is that you’ve accepted Christ. He died for my sin and yours.

Do you live for Him?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Is It Easter?

  1. Pingback: Easter celebrations, much ado about much | *His Space too*

  2. Pingback: THE TRUE MEANING OF EASTER | HALCYON SOUL CENTER

  3. My pastor preached a sermon one time about the origin of “Easter” and all that goes along with it. I wish I could remember everything he said about it… I do remember that he did a LOT of research on it & said that it did have a lot to do with a fertility goddess.
    Anyway….. we call it Resurrection Sunday. After all, no matter where the term “Easter” came from, we’re celebrating Christ’s resurrection & that’s the most important thing. Right? 😉

    • Absolutely right! We’re celebrating the resurrection of the King of Kings, the only perfect man who ever lived, who took our sins and died for them so we wouldn’t have to.
      BTW: Do your own research on the word. Very interesting.
      Like you said, being in Christ is what’s truly important.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

