Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Class with Class

2 Comments

Ever notice how sometimes, the thing hurts your heart is the thing that fills your heart with joy again?

That happened to me this weekend.

A friend I’ve known since 2nd grade lost her son. Her loss broke my heart. (My boys are around his age and I’ve known the kid since he was a tyke.) It hurts to even imagine what his death did to her.

That’s when the really good part happened. I reached out to as many of our classmates as I could think of (and to more of them as they filtered in to my poor brain) and asked if they’d like to join together to send a remembrance from our class.

The response was overwhelming. And beautiful. And made me oh, so very glad I’m from this Small Town World!

The really funny thing? The people in our class really are just as nice as I remember them. For a while, I’ve wondered if my over-active imagination made them seem nicer and funnier than they were.

(I read on a blog once that if you weren’t bullied in school, you probably were the bully. But that’s not true for our Small Town World. I wasn’t a bully in any way, shape or form, and if there were any bullies, they hid it well.)

But my memories aren’t wrong. My class is made up of a great bunch of people!

I’m lucky to have been part of them.

I’m not sure my friend whose son died will ever know just how deeply these friends grieved for her or how much they love her, but I hope so. One of these days, if I get the chance, I’m gonna tell her. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “The Class with Class

  1. You can also tell her that strangers sent their love and prayers in her time of sorrow. She is having the worst nightmare of every parent.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

