Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The New Look

2 Comments

Small Town World has a new look. Did you notice?

A long time ago, Mom told me about life during World War II. Food was rationed, coffee scarce, chocolate practically nonexistent because it went to the guys fighting the war. She said fashions of the time reflected the scarcity of fabric.

Long gathered skirts were out. Slimmer skirts were in.

lens13721781_1285792043vintagesuitsvogue

I know people planted Victory Gardens back then. I remember wondering when Mom told me about living with those clothes, which she said she got really tired of, if they called them Victory Skirts.

Probably not. 🙂

When the war was over, Christian Dior came out with The New Look.

107_3Lg

From Design Museum , 1947.

SMT’s new look isn’t as different or beautiful as Christian’s, but it probably didn’t take him nearly as long as it took me, either.

Here are a couple of my attempts. (Yes, there were others.) spring collage  Too busy. And just doesn’t quite fit.

marchie collage

Close, but no cigar. 😉

Even though after the 17th, I’ll need to lose St. Paddy and play with my look some more, I like the header I ended up with.

That said, I don’t think Christian has to worry about losing his title of The New Look King.

  • 1940-1947 (fashionthroughtime.wordpress.com)
Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “The New Look

  1. Nice new look! I always like and enjoy what you do. Sometimes you get ahead of me and I have to catch up. Looking forward to your new book. Let me know when it is available on Kindle.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

