Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Daylight Saving What?

5 Comments

time-clockDaylight Savings time, again. Don’t you love it?

I don’t!

I don’t mind it, really, once I get used to it–after about a month or so. But for that month . . .

I remember when I first ran smack into DST when I was a kid. Missouri started instating it before Okieland did. And while I normally didn’t know or care what was happening in Missouri, for one week of the year I did. That was the week we went to church camp.

Cyokamo. (♪♫ The finest Christian Camp I know is Old Cyokamo . . . ♫♪)

About the time I was in 6th or 7th grade, the Missouri legislature decided they would save energy by changing time. The only energy I noticed changing was the energy it took for me to drag myself out of bed an hour early for that week. We didn’t have air conditioning at Cyokamo, and our electric fans blew 24/7, so nothing changed.

trailer clock1

The next time I ran into DST was during the energy crisis. Seems to me we had at least one year when we stayed on DST all year round, so we could save lots and lots of energy. (Am I remembering that right?)

Do we really save any energy at all?

When we smack into DST each year, for me it’s still hard (and harder every year) to drag out of the sack at my getting up time, and then I’m sleepy all day long for a while.

serindipity-sunrise

I started wondering a couple of things–

  1. Is it worth all the pain and anguish it causes?
  2. Can I get used to it all over again? (That was during the first, whiny hours.)

And, no surprise, God had an answer for me.

“I am the Lord, the God of all mankind. Is anything too hard for me?” Jeremiah 32:27.

All I have to do is abide in Him (and stop whining) and I can get ‘er done.

So how do you really feel about Daylight Savings Time? Love it? Hate it? Is it easy for you to switch time or does it take a week or so to get used to it?

And do we really save any energy or is that just an excuse to make us get out of bed?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “Daylight Saving What?

  1. I think I got 4 hours of sleep last night thank you very much DST.

  2. I like it when we “fall” back but the “spring forward”…not so much.

  3. I’ve said for years that we should just leave the time as God planned it. Whoever thought up this disruption of our world two times a year I do not think much of at all. Please use your power of persuasion for good next time.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

