Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Omega and the Pig

8 Comments

amy and noelOmega had a birthday last week. (She’s the movie star on the left.)

amy's-sombreroLike my kiddos, every time Omega has a birthday, I get older. (How does that work, anyway?)

amy-and-dad-2This year, she made it even worse. Just before her b-day, she made a comment. “It’s awful being the designated card maker for the office. I have to make my own card,” or something really whiny like that.

amy-and-jonnaAgain, Omega is the movie star on the left.

Of course, she has no idea what a comment like that does to me.

amy and mattIt’s like–

  • Hitting the gas on a race car.
  • Lighting the fuse on a firecracker.
  • Waving a red flag at a bull.

Naturally, I shot into action. Here’s what she got.

AMY'S-BIRTHDAY

Can you read it? It says,

Love you little.

Love you big!

Notice, I even pinked the bottom edge of that front page.

AMY-D'S-BDLove you like a little pig.

The (free on the internet) pig was centered and I put him on a little cardboard spring I made so he’d stand up and wave at her. 🙂

The saying is one that has come down through our family. When I was thinking about this card, I wondered which side of the family it came from. Did Great-Great-Granddad make it up? Great-Uncle August?

I googled it so see if anyone else had heard of our secret Love You poem.

In less than a second, I got 28 million hits. I didn’t go to all of them, most of the ones I did go to thought that saying (poem?) was original to their family. Either their father or grandfather or great uncle on Aunt Hattie’s side made it up.

One had it as the beginning of a long poem that went on with stuff like love you in, love you out, love you like a little sprout. His readers thought he’d made it up.

So, anybody know?

Maybe my brilliant Son #1 will find out for me, she said hopefully. And no, it wasn’t G-Man. LOL.

Happy B-day, Omega. You’re a hoot and a half.

amyThis is the age I like to remember her. (Makes me younger, too.)

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Omega and the Pig

  1. Happy Birthday, Amy! The sparkle in your pretty blue eyes makes the world a brighter place. Enjoy your special day. Love from another cousin 🙂

  2. Hope Amy had a wonderful day on her birthday!!
    Brenda Walkup

  3. Little Pig to you too! Susan Nanner

  4. I’ve never wondered about where “I love you little, I love you big, I love you like a little pig” came from. It’s a saying I’ve heard repeated all my life, especially to kids. Well, little piggies are cute and cuddly- looking, Amy being the Spess baby or Omega deserves the cute saying. Hope she had a great birthday and year.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

