Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Getting Crafty

5 Comments

Omega had a birthday celebration yesterday. (Her bd was Saturday. Yeah, we’re a little slow.)

I got bit by a craft bug this weekend.

What does one thing have to do with the other? I. Don’t. Know.  But I created all weekend. Not necessarily good crafting, but it filled that need for the moment.

First I got out my cutter quilt and made hearts.

hearts  I wouldn’t take them to the fair, but they filled my basket. 🙂

Last week, I found a blog that I loved. Check it out. It’s called The White Bench, and just the colors on the page make me feel good. The owner is an artist (which I’m not!) and everything she does is beautiful.

She has several tutorials, one of which is how to make roses.

So I made these–

rose-white

rose-blueA hot glue gun holds it all together.

Untitled-1

Warning: This can be dangerous. If you try it, keep a bowl of ice water nearby, because hot glue stay where you put it and it HURTS! It doesn’t stop me, though.

rose-burlapThe artist didn’t have anything made with burlap. (Hers are gorgeous!) But I liked the gunny sack, turquoise and lace look.

rose-1I have no idea what I’ll do with them, but when I gave a couple of them to Omega (for her birthday) I told her she could put them on bags or hats or wear them like a pin on her shirt or lapel.

How’d you spend your weekend?

          

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “Getting Crafty

  1. Wow Susan, I love those. My fav is the burlap & turquoise one! Ok so after Valentines day, we need to choose a day or 2 a month to craft together!!!

  2. Your roses are beautiful! I can’t do crafty things, but I can burn my self with a hot glue gun.

  3. Thanks for the reference – the DIY book wreath looks amazing when complete! x

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

