Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Take a Guess

4 Comments

Know what this is?

grandmother'sIt’s part of something that hangs on the wall in my bathroom, right above the towel rack. Guess quick, because I’m going to tell/show you in just a moment. 🙂

Now, I’m not a person friends flock to for help decorating their homes. My house doesn’t even come close to looking like the display area of a design shop.

I like to blame that on the fact that G-Man thinks he should have some say in our decorating. His idea of a perfect wall used to be this–

grand-wallNo holes to be filled, no scratches to be fixed, no paint to be redone. Over the years together, we’ve melded our tastes. A little. 🙂

The sort of thing I like usually belonged to someone else a long time ago.  And if it belonged to someone I knew, so much the better!

For instance.grandma's-mirror-2 This used to belong to my grandma. It was on her vanity table, which was in her bedroom all the years I can remember. Now it hangs in my little bathroom downstairs. (The rest of the vanity used to be in my entryway, but is in a bedroom now.)

Even though the reflective stuff on the back of the mirror isn’t in really good shape, it makes me feel good to know I’m looking in the same mirror Eva looked in for years and years.

Back to the picture at the top. Through guessing? Read on.

One day, I went shopping with my sweet friend Marilyn and I saw something that caught my fancy.

grandmother's-iron-rose It quickly learned my name.

grandmother's-iron

And it called me back to that side of the store, again and again.

grandmother-another

granmother's-pretties

grandmother's-vines

And the kicker?

grandmother's-wrought-iron-

It was on sale! (Can anyone resist a half-price sale???)

Well, I can’t. So I bought it and toted it home, feeling a little silly. After all, it was just a piece of wrought iron, like Grandmother had on her porch. Sigh. Now what?

I thought about using it in my garden or hanging it on my porch. Somehow, that just didn’t work for me. 😦

So I set it in an out-of-the-way place in my house and left it for several months. Then one day, I got tired of two things–tripping over the wrought iron and the empty spot over my downstairs towel rack.

Putting two and two together, I got an answer.

Why not hang this gorgeous piece of iron up there? There was already a nail in the wall, so I didn’t have to worry about finding a stud.

I could hang it myself!

grandmother's-wrought-iron I liked it, but it looked a little bare. What to do? What to do?

After a few days of looking at the bare metal, I got another idea. I garden each spring until it gets too hot and the weeds get the run of the place, and sometimes I dry the flowers I grow. Why not hang some of the flowers I’d dried from it?

I liked that a lot!

Then Christmas came, and I got a new idea.

grandmother's-christmas I took some of the ornaments I’d put old pictures in and hung them from the iron. I like it so much, I left it up for a whole year!

grandmother-christmas-2But even that got old after a while. Time for a change. Back to flowers.

grand's-hydies-2This time, instead of dried roses and lavender,

grands-hydie's-3I used hydrangeas.

grands-hydies-4

But even with dried hydies, it looked a little sparse.

grands-hydies-6

Naturally, I grabbed these cute little birdhouses I’d hung on my Christmas tree.

grand-birdy

They’re rusty little things, and I love them!

grands-hydies-5I know, they’d probably look better if they were hung with brown velvet ribbon instead of that wire, but I kind of like the wire.

And Sister Debbie–the answer is yes. I still want wrought iron that came off Grandmother’s porch. All I’ll have to do is figure out how to cut it apart and we can have these beauties all over the house.

So how about you? Do you get someone to decorate for you or do you enjoy finding goodies and doing the “work” yourself?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Take a Guess

  1. Very cool! You make it look easy.

  2. My idea of decorating is dusting my house once a year.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

