Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

About My Blog

25 Comments

I signed up for a blog growing party several weeks ago. BUT I couldn’t remember what I was supposed to do. 😦

GrowYourBlog2013

I believe I’m supposed to tell about my blog and have a give away. (That’s at the end–so you have to read all the way.)

I’ve been blogging a while (longer than I care to remember.) I’ve read you should blog whatever your passion is. Naturally, I blog about LIFE, the small town world I live in, the small town business I work in and the things I stumble across.

Back in the fall, we took a family vacation which, due to illness and prior commitments  dwindled to a half-family vacation in Eureka Springs. On the way there, we went to one of my favorite arts and crafts shows, War Eagle.

I shared some of the pictures I took there when I told you about Fall Tripping. But I didn’t show you this.

window-into-life

This was for sale at War Eagle, but I didn’t have enough room for it in my car. Isn’t it adorable, though? I can see lots of family pics in those frames. 🙂

After War Eagle, we went on to Eureka Springs and checked into our hotel.

Artist's-Studio

Before long, we drove out of town, and happened onto this man’s artist studio. The man and his wife were so talented. They did all the work, including building their house and sidewalk and everything else around the place. (Except some of the tools.)

artist's-ideaIsn’t this beautiful? The artist had a beautiful image of a unicorn, didn’t he?

artist's-glassesThis fanciful pair of glasses were taller than I am. Aren’t they great?

artist-mail-boxThis was the artist’s mailbox. And yes, he built it himself. I’m thinking I need one just like that!

Tree-Loving-DILIn Eureka we found trees to love. 🙂 (That’s my tree hugging DIL, Nikki.)

And we saw this beautiful church. We didn’t go in, but it was pretty to see from where we were.

Catholic-ChurchIt’s a Catholic Church. You enter through the belfry. I was there once when I was in college. That was the first time I’d ever seen the stations of the cross.

I’m a member of a Christian Church and we don’t go into the cross’s stations, but they were beautiful. I followed them around the entire church, so I could see each one.

So that’s pretty much what my blog is about. Small town life, family, trips and crafts–mine and the crafts other people make.

GIVE AWAY: Three ways to win!

  1. Make a comment and I’ll enter you to win one of my books. (Your choice.)
  2. Make a comment and sign up to follow me and I’ll enter you twice.
  3. Comment, follow me here and friend me on Facebook, and I’ll enter you three times.

Ps: Email me (smalltownworldcont@yahoo.com)  and let me know you’ve done all three so I don’t miss it. Or forget. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

25 thoughts on “About My Blog

  1. I am commenting, I already follow you 😉 Sent you a friend Add. Just sent you an email. Hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

  2. I always enjoy reading your posts, Susan. I’m following you on FB & by e-mail. Hope you’re having a great weekend.

    • Thanks Carol.
      I can’t believe I’ve never really met you. You sound like someone from my Small Town World. 😉
      I enjoy your blog so much!
      You’re in for three chances, also!
      Susan

  3. I follow you & we’ve been friends most of our lives. I want to get some of your books but can’t remember (need to know before I go online to order) exactly how you use your name — is it Susan Spess Shay or just Susan Shay?

  4. Okay — I’m commenting — and I already follow you ‘cuz I love your blog, and we have been Facebook friends for a long time!! 🙂

  5. I’m commenting because YOU DIDN’T TAKE ME TO WAR EAGLE WITH YOU!!!!!

  6. you look so cute hugging the tree. please check out my blog when you get a chance. take care. ( :

  7. i clicked the follow button & i am following you on twitter too. fun!! ( :

  8. added you as a friend on FB … & it is waiting on you for a response. take care & thanks for the 3 votes. ( :

  9. I’m commenting simply because I want to win one of your books and because I love your blog! It is a bright spot in my day and gives me a boost and a chuckle every time I read it. Thank you Susan for giving us something you love to do and we love to receive.

  10. I’m commenting because I want to, and I have always been like that!
    Just kidding. Love you

  11. Hello,

    Nice to meet you in this party.:)

    There is a giveaway on my blog,too.

    http://petite-armoire.blogspot.com/
    betikarauski@gmail.com

    All the best.:)
    Bernadett

    All done.:)

  12. Enjoyed perusing your “small town” blog – love the feel, love to read and learn new things. Please stop by if you haven’t already and sign up for my giveaway. (I’m tardy because my motherboard died and went to the grave!) But, I have a replacement now! Hugs from Alaska. Karen

    http://www.alaskabluemoose.blogspot.com

    • ALASKA!
      How cool is that! I’m so glad you meet you, Karen. I’ll pop over right now. I can’t wait to read about your life in Cold Country.
      I have a friend whose husband comes up to Alaska every summer. I’ll share your blog with her, too.
      SO NICE TO MEET YOU!
      Susan

  13. Hello from Winnipeg! So glad to have found you via Vicki’s party. I will be sure to Follow you now so I can return and read more!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

