Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Sisterly Things

4 Comments

Did you see I’m working on a new verse to memorize? Here it is–

Romans 14:2-3.

One person’s faith allows them to eat anything, but another, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The one who eats everything must not treat with contempt the one who does not, and the one who does not eat everything must not judge the one who does, for God has accepted them.

#2 Sister in the Spess Family line up (Deb) has invited me to take part in an eight week getting-healthy-challenge she saw on Pinterest. It’s a weight loss doin’-my-bod’-good thing, posted by this sisterly blog.deb clown

Sister Debbie is the cute clown on the right. 🙂

Of course, Sister Deb has an unfair advantage. She’s a long time snacker of low cal things, such as stems and twigs.

deb

Sister Deb told me she’s memorizing Bible verses twice a month, too. (Does she live a disciplined life or what?)

In honor of The Challenge, she chose a verse in one of the Peters. Now I would have joined her in memorizing that verse, but I couldn’t remember which one it was. (Obviously, it’s not just my verses I have trouble remembering. I’m an equal opportunity forgetter.)

deb-hbd

Since I couldn’t remember her verse, I searched for one of my own. Turns out, Paul had some light to shed on my quest in Romans 14–especially verse three.

One person’s faith allows them to eat anything, but another, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The one who eats everything must not treat with contempt the one who does not, and the one who does not eat everything must not judge the one who does, for God has accepted them. 

It’s telling the girlies who are good at healthy living (aka–dieting) not to gloat over those of us who aren’t. I’m going to need that verse! 🙂

BTW: Verse two is for #1 Son and his comment from my Confession Blog. *wink*

The Challenge is not a specific diet, so I’m up for any hints, tips or tricks that have worked for you in the past.

Anybody wanna share?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Sisterly Things

  1. Scripture memorization 2,
    1 Peter 3:3-4
    Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles & the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle & quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

    I pray this scripture will help my devotion of beautifying of my inner self, my spirit, far above the my dedication to the weight loss challenge we are beginning.

    Thanks for the pretty words about me, I like the way you make me look. Btw, it’s easy to snack on stems & twigs when you keep important things like Hershey’s kisses & peanut M&Ms in your medicine cabinet, because those are necessities of life!

    • I like your verse!
      Have you tried the HKs that taste like chocolate covered cherries? OOooooh, baby. They’re good!
      I’m not a big chocolate eater, but I love my buttery popcorn with M&Ms.
      One more Saturday snack and then The Challenge. (sigh) If I could just stop liking the good stuff, I’d be a happy camper. And healthier, too.

  2. You have a lovely blog, thank you for sharing. I am a new follower and ‘Grow Your Blog’ participant. Have fun at the party!

    Evalina, This and that…

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

