Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Confession

7 Comments

I read this morning that being popular on Facebook will make you fat. LOL.

Funny thing is, several years ago I told an author friend that I thought you could probably measure how good a writer was by the size of her backside.

My meaning was, the harder a writer works at her craft, the more she sits and doesn’t exercise. A few years after that, the same friend lost over a hundred pounds, and is an even more successful writer than before. So much for my theory. 🙂

Hundreds of thousands of dollars are spent every year on weight loss. (I know, because I spend my share while trying to lose.) But there’s only one way to lose the fat–more exercise, fewer calories.

Everybody knows that. (I mean, if I know it, who doesn’t?)

So why is it so hard to lose? And once we’ve lost, why is it so hard to keep the weight off?

Because we like to eat. Food comforts us, doesn’t it? We show those around us how much we love them by the food we cook. Birthday cakes. Brunch on our day off. Candy for Christmas, Valentines, and Easter.

And to be honest, exercise hurts. (At least it hurts me when I’m getting started.)

Speaking of hurting, last week we talked to a man who told us his entire church does the Daniel Diet every year in January. Of course I’ve heard of it. (Haven’t you?)

ArtBook__023_023__DanielRefusingTheKingsFoodAndWine_Sm___Read about Daniel here.

It’s also known as the Daniel Fast. (A word that strikes fear in my heart.)

For those of you who haven’t looked into it, it’s–

  • No MEAT
  • No WHEAT
  • No SWEET
  • Only drink is filtered water.

I’m not sure where Daniel got a water filter, but who am I to question?

Remember, if it ends in an EET sound, spit it out.

To be honest, the three weeks spent on this diet/fast is a time of reflection and renewal in your walk with God. A great way to start the year.

Will I be trying it?

Not without a word from God. If I’m sent that direction by Him, absolutely! But as it stands right now, I’m going to stick with fewer calories, and  more exercise.

And if I get that word from God, I’ll be leaning on Him big time to get through it. (And a giant barrel of peanut butter.)

Have you tried the Daniel? How’d it go? Did you cheat???

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

7 thoughts on “Confession

  1. Susan,

    Some bearded dude stopped me this morning on my way into work (looked funny in those robes) and told me to tell you to do it. But wait until after my birthday. 🙂

  2. Susan I am at the opposite end of the spectrum LOL. Yes I am a writer but I am also a musician as you know and when I am singing, which is about 3-5 days a week depending, it is like doing 500 sit ups. Maybe you should take up singing. LOL 🙂

  3. Personally, I surrendered to the Fat Troll years ago. Uh, if you DO decide to get rid of your “sweet”, can I have the chocolate?

    • You can have ALL the chocolate, Jackie. Except when I’m eating popcorn. I need M & M’s to make popcorn really good. (I doubt I’ll be getting rid of much in the near future. Love my popcorn!)

  4. Pingback: Sisterly Things | Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

