Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

First Day

8 Comments

hearts-1474

Not only is 2012 gone, the first day of 2013 is, too! How did you spend yours?

I spent most of mine doing revisions on a couple of books, watching football and a little of Passion 2013. And as much as I enjoyed that (I really did!) my favorite part of the day was spent sitting in front of our fireplace, spending some time with God.

This year, I’m joining Beth Moore, #4 and 3,000+ other women. We’re memorizing a scripture twice a month. (That makes me part of SSMT!)

With my sieve-like brain, I’ll need your prayers to succeed at this!!! (If you’re memorizing, let me know and I’ll pray for you, too.)

Here’s my first scripture:

1/1/13

♥♥♥ Jeremiah 24:7 ♥♥♥

 I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the Lord. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart. NIV

I love that, don’t you?

I will give them a heart to know me, that I am their Lord. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.

I will give them a heart to know me, that I am their Lord. They will be my people and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.

I still can’t do it by heart. (I need your prayers!) At least I can remember, Jeremiah 24:7. I will give them a heart to know me, that I am their Lord. They will be my people and I will be their God for they will return to me with all their heart. (Okay, that time was from pure memory. We’ll see if I can remember it later.

If I talk to you, ask me to say it for you. I might be able to do this thing, with His help. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “First Day

  1. I spent the first day of 2013 in my pajamas surrounded by my family doing as little as possible. It was fantastic! Good luck with the memorization!

  2. I’m inspired!!…I still need to finish the Bible read-through from a while back; maybe I’ll get back on track!

  3. Once you get past verses longer than “Jesus wept.”, I’m lost,

    • Right now I have to have a little boost to get started. If you say, “I will give them a heart to know me” I can stumble through, “that I am their God. They will be my people and I will be their God for they will return to me with their whole heart.”
      Getting there, but slowly.

  4. Love the verse you chose for Beth Moore’s scripture team! 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

