Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Mayans Didn’t Get Me

4 Comments

Yikes! I missed saying hi yesterday. I just hope that didn’t scare you.

I just now realized that, being it was December 21, 2012 yesterday, you might have thought I’d disappeared with the Mayans. Or that the planets (aligned for the only time in the past six hundred jillion years) made a magnetic gateway and sucked me away to that happy place over the rainbow.

Didn’t. Happen.

I know you’re relieved to find out I was only sucked into the world of Christmas while I wrapped gifts. Blogworld slipped my mind.

The good news is, I have most of my gifts wrapped. The bad news is, I was late for work for about the 30th time this week. And since I only have five work days in a week, that’s not an easy thing to do.

1-Christmas-shoesThese are a pair of shoes I bought at my Forever Friend’s aunt’s estate sale. I’ve had them several years, and this year I thought they needed to come out of the closet. Kinda cool, huh?

3-Christmas-feather-treeHere’s my feather tree. I usually put on the yellow and green balls that came with it, but this year I thought candy canes. Pretty, and edible. What’s better than that when it comes to decorations?

7-Christmas-kitchenThis is the kitchen. I’ve had the triple candle lights since we lived in Pryor Creek. I thought it made the wreaths look  homey and warmish this year.

5-ChrismtasThis is the doll I bought at War Eagle in the fall. She’s all dressed up for Christmas –well, she has a new necklace and a Santy hat–and she’s sitting in the trunk my kiddos bought me last Christmas. (I love it!)

5-Christmas-2But the poor dear still doesn’t have a name. I’ve been thinking about a few such as Gussie, Matilda and Minerva. Leaning toward Gussie at this point. Which ever I choose, I have a feeling she won’t be happy with it. I never have seen her smile.

Maybe if she gets a present under the Christmas Tree, she’ll cheer up. 🙂

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Mayans Didn’t Get Me

  1. I love your words Susan! You make me smile and happy with them!! Thank you and Merry Christmas to you and all your family!!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

