Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Names of Jesus

2 Comments

cropped-merry-stars.jpgKnow whose birthday is coming up in a little over a week? 🙂

Those are some of His names in my header. I decided to do that because I read of a woman who made wire Christmas ornaments of some of Jesus’s names. She thought it was important for her kids that He have a presence on their Christmas tree, and now she has them for sale. You can see them here.

But I’d seen a beautiful “sign” at Thanksgiving, and thought I’d like to do that with Jesus’s names. (Those little ornaments would get lost on my tree full of pictures and bling.) So I started trying to figure out how to make one of those signs.

I planned to finish it in 8 1/2 X 11, print it out and either frame it or Modge Podge it on a board. But seeing that Christmas is just a little over a week away, I don’t know if that’s going to happen or not.

Do you know what happens when you start doing something like this sign with the names of Jesus? His names start standing up and making themselves known.

There’s one. There’s another one. Oh! Look, there’s another one.

I wish I could tell you my favorite of them. One moment I think it’s “I Am,” next I think it’s, “Lover of My Soul,” or “Lamb of God” who was sacrifice for my sins. Or maybe it’s “Immanuel, God with Us.”

God With Us. I love that.

But my favorite? I don’t know.

How about you?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Names of Jesus

  1. I think I would go with the first mention of Him I remember.

    Jesus loves me, this I know…

    • Good thing to know, isn’t it? (Warning: I’m liable to preach here.) The song says we know He loves us “for the Bible tells me so.”
      But we’re certain of it for more reasons than that. We see His love all around us in so many ways and things. The beauty surrounding us, the joy of family and true friends, the daily miracles He performs and we often miss.
      Such as the miracle of our friendship. Who would ever have put us together as friends? We live fifty odd miles apart, you were a marine, I was a Bible college student, you’re a nurse with a gift for drawing blood and I want to pass out at the thought of a needle.
      But here we are, good friends, and I’m blessed and thank God for each day of our friendship.
      He loves us so much!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

