Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Christmas in Heaven

4 Comments

This is a repeat from last year, with a few changes. 😉 I hope you’ll enjoy it.

another-merry-christmas

I started to repost this on Facebook yesterday. At Christmas, I like remembering friends and loved ones who’ve passed.

But when I really looked at that picture and read the words, it sounds almost as if my loved ones were gone. Over.

That’s not true. Those who’ve gone on are in HEAVEN! (No doubt about that.) They’re with the Jesus, face to face!

Can you imagine the celebration There when it’s Jesus’s birthday? The joy, happiness, the atmosphere of pure love that happens when they celebrate The Day the creator of the universe and everything in it became a helpless human child, so that thirty odd years later he could take our sins?

Try to imagine the colors. The songs. The absolute explosion of joy that inundates everyone during the celebration!

In my imagination, when the heavenly choirs sing, their music is visible,  colored light, like rainbows and sparkling stars. But that’s my weirdness showing there. LOL!

Christmas was Mom’s favorite holiday. She loved it, worked HARD to make it special for me, my siblings and my kids.

One year she made our picture window look like stained glass by coloring a giant picture and doing somthing to it (seems like baby oil was rubbed on it, but I was just little, so I’m not sure) to make it transparent.

And because there was no Internet, she drove to Tulsa day after day, Christmas shopping for all her loved ones. I remember many nights when she’d come in, exhausted from being over there and going from store to store, not only for our family’s gifts, but for Grandmother’s, too, since Grandmother didn’t drive.

Nope. I can’t just light a candle to remember her at Christmas. I’d have to set off an entire pyrotechnic display!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Christmas in Heaven

  1. Remembering Mom at Christmas. My favorite Christmas memory. She loved Christmastime so very much, because she loved Him so very much. It was her passion to Celebrate Jesus at Christmas and to make Christmas so special for all she loved.

    Can you imagine how busy she is in Heaven getting ready for Christmas? And loving every second of it!

    Love you, Sweet Sister of Words, I pray a big dose of Mom for you this Christmas.

  2. I love remembering my loved ones at Christmas, the entire Mitchell Famil;y is in heaven celebrating Jesus’s birthday with him. Grandad and Grandma Mitchell, Elva, Earl, Avard, Lillis Owen, Ruby and Ray Spess, Nola and Virgil Fisher, Lola and Charley, Lena and Cecil Shoemaker are all together having a good time worshipping our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!! I’m also sure that Phyllis, Joanie, Mary Beth and Lydia Marie are with them in all the splendor of Heaven. Praise God for sending Jesus as our greatest Gift.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

