Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Shellin’ Out

5 Comments

So . . . how do you like the new look in Small Town World? My house isn’t Christmas-ready, but the blog is! (And that’s the only thing about me that is.)

I’ve already received a gift, though. And I not only opened it, I ate some of it. Want to see?

Eggs! (Is that cool or what?)

They’re from my dad. He bought a bunch of baby chicks early last summer, and this is the result. And since Dad and a pro at sharing, he brought me and a couple of my sibs a dozen.

G-Man and I had them for breakfast.

This guy was about 1 1/2″ long. No, they aren’t from Bantams. They’re just the size young hens lay.

We had to eat several. 😉

The hardest part was keeping them in my fingers while I cracked them. (I usually buy extra large eggs. Or Jumbos.)

This one was kind of greenish-gray on the outside, but a beautiful blue on inside.

Cute little things, aren’t they?

It’s amazing how many people have their own backyard hen houses. Four or five people have given me eggs in the last few years. One time, the yolks were bright orangey-yellow and had a really strong flavor. I figured it was what the birds had been fed, so I ate them anyway. Other family members weren’t quite so sure. 😉

These eggs, though, were beautiful and delicious! (And they had normal colored yolks.)

Of course, Dad bought more than just hens. He bought Ginny fowl and roosters. But the Ginny fowl were mean to the hens, so he moved them out of the hen-house. And the roosters got, well, cocky, so they’re out, too.

Now the Ginnys and the roosters are free ranging. We’ll see how they get along. 😛

Good stuff and organic, too. How cool is that?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “Shellin’ Out

  1. Your main image is a springtime wedding pond… it needs to be snow-covered hills. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

