Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Trick or Treat on Main Street

11 Comments

Don’t you love a Small Town World? Every year for a long time here in C-Town, merchants, churches, insurance companies and whoever wants to line up on Broadway so the can kids have a SAFE Halloween.  (It’s really called  Trick or treat on Broadway, but I like the rhythm of Main Street better. 🙂

Did you have a happy Halloween?

I did! I happened to have my camera with me when the kiddos started gathering for the annual candy free-for-all, so I took a little walk. (Doctor’s orders. Right?)

I decided to go see Brother Jeffrey and his wife, Little Red Riding Hood–er–Julie.

I only planned to stay a moment, but I had too much fun to take off right away.

I can’t even tell you which was my favorite costume. There were so many cute ones.

I loved this one.

She’s wearing an Indian Ribbon Dancer’s costume. Beautiful!

These girls are the Rockford Peaches! (I got a high five for getting it right.)  Aren’t they adorable?

I loved that movie!

Scarlett was there. (Love that movie, too.)

BTW: If you notice the kids aren’t smiling for the birdie, blame it on Wolf Boy. Most of the little ones were busy keeping an eye on Big Bad. LOL!

 A box of popcorn.

Isn’t this little pumpkin a sweetheart? What a doll.

From the very young to the not so young, C-Town comes out to play on Broadway. I’m just glad I don’t have to decide who has the best costume. The were all adorable!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

11 thoughts on “Trick or Treat on Main Street

  1. Very nice photos! I love Halloween! 🙂

  2. Beautiful pics….I couldn’t make it so thanks for sharing. People are so creative with costumes….I loved the “Weiner Dog”!

  3. Little Red Riding Hood sure is lookin’ good! She always chooses such cute costumes. Great pictures, although I didn’t recognize many of the kids. The pic of Leightyn is adorable. She’s a doll!!!

  4. Julie is the perfect Little Red Riding Hood. I don’t think of Jeff as the Big Bad Wolf, but he seemed to wear it well! You took pics of a lot of the same ones I did. I LOVED the baseball team girls. How clever. Of course, you have my favorite-pic-of-all-time-…….the real life doll! LL

  5. Thanks for sharing. I missed seeing kids in their costumes! I loved the little Scarlett.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

