Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Springing Eureka

6 Comments

As I mentioned Monday, some of our kids spent time with us in Eureka Springs this last weekend, so I thought we’d do a few things we’d never done before. G-Man and I’ve been to Eureka so many times, there’s not a whole lot we haven’t done, but I found a couple of things.

We toured the springs! (Yes, there are springs in Eureka Springs. LOL!)

It’s funny, but we’d never spent time actually exploring the thing ES is named for.

Eureka was first established because of the healing quality of the natural springs. Indians believed in the healing power, Civil War soldiers recouped there. And (I hear) people still soak in the hot springs in some of the spas. We didn’t do that. (Maybe on the next trip.)

The first spring we visited was inside an antique store. Yes, we bit the bullet 😛 and shopped at that store so we could see the Gadd Spring.

We loved this shop. Probably could have spent the entire time we stayed in Arkansas just exploring the place and grounds.

Can you imagine the joy of having this inside your shop? Too cool!

See the water falling toward the bottom of the picture? That’s the spring, springing! Great place to grow plants.

e-Gadd! 🙂 LL–this pic is for you. It’s a banana plant growing next to Gadd Spring.

Basin Spring

This is the spring most people see, but I’m not sure they realize it’s the spring. The water has been routed to this fountain, which runs pretty much all the time. Beautiful, isn’t it?

 Laundry and/or Onyx Spring

This spring had two names. It was called Laundry Spring, because so many people did their wash there, back in the day.

 This bench says, “Onyx Spring,” because at one time, there was onyx there. It’s gone now.

Looks like a water fountain, doesn’t it? Several of the springs have those, but there are signs that say, “Do not drink the water.”

We didn’t.

Grotto Spring

This was a gorgeous place. Lots of room to climb or just hang around.

Here’s the undrinkable fountain at that location. We met a woman from the area with her two kids (and their dog, Barney) at this spring. The kids were polite, obedient and delightful. The woman was friendly and full of helpful knowledge.

She told us about walking trails, where we could find free maps, and that we could go into any of the public areas at the Crescent Hotel without worry. (I’ll tell you about visiting The Most Haunted Hotel in the World on Halloween.)

Then we ran into this woman and her kids every place we went. She even stayed at our hotel for the weekend so her kids could swim, so we had breakfast near each other a few times. (She could sniff out a full coffee pot with the best of them!)

Is that a cool mom or what?

Grotto Spring Cave

This candle was burning in Grotto Spring Cave, wherethe spring originates. The woman from ES hated it being there because, she said, it’s killing the cave life.

We didn’t blow it out anyway.

Magnetic Spring

The last spring we visited was Magnetic Spring. It’s near the bottom of Magnet Road, which leads from the Passion Play to Main Street. I’m not sure why they named it Magnetic.

Like the others, this spring was lush and beautifully landscaped.

This is Matt, standing in front of the two basins, filled with water. We drove by once and saw some kids wading in it. The water was up to their thighs.

The upper basin spills into the lower basin, keeping them both fresh and pretty.

I hoped we could do the family pic at one of the springs, but that didn’t happen. Gonna have to try for some group shots again. Soon!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Springing Eureka

  1. Susan, I would love to take credit for planting the banana plant when Judy and I honeymooned there in 1981, but some would catch the falsehood? 🙂
    Had I not met her, I may have become a fixture in Eureka Springs, cause I truly love that place. Thanks for the memories.

  2. Love ES!! We have been going there since 1970’s!! Love Mudd Street Cafe!! Always love your photos!!

    • I didn’t know that, Becki Sue Fred. We started going when we lived in Pryor. I love going there and REALLY love shopping there. 🙂 We went up once just to shop at the Enchanted Forest. (We found some cool stuff, too.)

  3. Oh, I see a road trip to ES in my future. Those springs look beautiful. But I’ll need someone to hold my hand. I just KNOW if I see a sign that says “Don’t drink the water”, that’s just what I will do!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

