Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Favorite Things

3 Comments

You might have noticed something different here in Small Town World.

I’m trying to keep my blogging to three days a week (or there abouts.)

Why? you ask. 🙂

Because I was spending all my writing time blogging, and I really need to write my stories, you know?

Every now and then, I’m going to have (if I remember) a favorites day, and tell you about something I really, really like.

I don’t think I’ll go so far as to call it Favorites Friday. Knowing my past history, it would turn out to be Favorites Friday or Whatever Day I Feel Like It.

Why? you ask. (Boy, you have a lot of questions today.)

A long time ago (I think I was in high school, maybe) I decided that I wanted to be a glass-half-full kind of person. You know, the ones who wake up happy in the morning and see the good side to things that happen–if there is a good side. 😉

Don’t get me wrong. I haven’t always attained that goal. I can gripe with the best of them. And yeah, some days griping, whining and complaining is my favorite thing, but I try to keep it to a minimum. And I don’t think I’ll share it here.

I know some people are irritated by the Mary Poppins of this world. They want to smack the smile right off her face, and break Maria Von Trapp’s guitar. But I doubt if they stop by STW much anyway. 🙂 Besides, I loved Mary Poppins and adored The Sound of Music.

Today (since I’ve spent so much time yammering about stuff) my favorite thing is HAPPY ENDINGS. It’s what we all want, isn’t it? To be happy?

When I accidently watch a movie that doesn’t have a good ending, I hate it. I promise myself to never watch that movie again.

Happily Ever Afters are the reason I love to read (and write) romance novels, because no matter what terrible hardships and conflicts the hero and heroine encounter, they always have a happy ending. I put the book away thinking they lived together to a ripe old age.

And when they died, they went to heaven with their loved one by their side, and that’s the happiest ending of all. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “Favorite Things

  1. 🙂 A Favorite: Sometimes life throws us a curve & we lose someone we love way too soon. But, one “favorite happy ending story” came Wednesday on what would have been my Mother’s 91st birthday. A longtime friend shared a story of a kindness that my parents did for someone over 50 years ago. It brought tears to my eyes, a smile to my face & joy to my heart. That was just one of my “favorites” ~ an unexpected “visit” to Momma & Daddy’s place. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry to see your blog come less often, but I’d rather have fewer blogs and more books, so good deal. Pump up those chapters and publish us another book.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

