Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Party Will Go On!

14 Comments

Sing the wonderous love of Jesus . . .

I posted part of the words to that song on FB this morning in a conversation about the C-Town (Thank you, Jesus!) reunion party we’ll have “When We All Get To Heaven.”

Brought to mind all the wonderful songs we sang growing up. Not just songs Mama and Daddy sang in the car when we were traveling, (Mama said as a baby, I cried when they sang. I said it was because I didn’t know the words.)

One of the songs they sang was by Dean Martin. (Who knew?)

“I’ll be down to get you in a taxi, honey. You’d better be ready around half past eight
Ah baby don’t be late I want to be there when the band starts honey
Well just remember when we get there honey
Two steps gonna handle them all
Dance with both my shoes when they play the jelly roll blues
Tomorrow night at the darktown strutter’s ball
Well just remember when we get there honey
Two steps gonna handle them all
Dance with both my shoes when they play the jelly roll blues
Tomorrow night at the darktown strutter’s ball”

Confession: We sang–at least I remember singing–“The DOWNTOWN strutter’s ball,” not, “the darktown strutter’s ball.” Darktown makes me think they didn’t pay their electric bill. 🙂

My favorite songs, though, were the ones we sang in church.

Sing the wondrous love of Jesus, Sing His mercy and His grace; In the mansions bright and blessed He’ll prepare for us a place.

When we all get to heaven, What a day of rejoicing that will be! When we all see Jesus, We’ll sing and shout the victory!

Written by Eliza E. Hewitt in 1898.

Remember:

Some glad morning when this life is o’er,
I’ll fly away;
To a home on
God’s celestial shore,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

I’ll fly away, Oh Glory
I’ll fly away; (in the morning)
When I die,
Hallelujah, by and by,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

Written in 1929 by Albert E. Brumley

What about

There is POW’R! POW’R! wonder-working pow’r
In the blood of the Lamb;
There is POW’R! POW’R! wonder-working pow’r
In the precious blood of the Lamb.

Or when we sang,

There is pow’r-pow’r-pow’r-pow’r! Pow’r-pow’r-pow’r-pow’r! wonder-working pow’r
In the blood of the Lamb;
There is pow’r-pow’r-pow’r-pow’r! Pow’r-pow’r-pow’r-pow’r! wonder-working pow’r
In the precious blood of the Lamb.

Beautiful songs, beautiful words, beautiful praises, beautiful memories.

I love those old songs, and love singing them and reliving the memories that go with them. Sunday nights, we often sang the jazzier songs from the Kiamichi song book.

Oh, Beulah Land, sweet Beulah Land, As on the highest mount I stand. I look away across the sea, Where mansions are prepared for me. And view the shining glory shore, My Heav’n, my home forever more!

Burl Ives wrote that one. (Again, who knew?) I can’t think of that song without remembering the sweet LOLs who belted it out with gusto.

And what’s wonderful is that we have new songs that are just as beautiful, with thoughts and sentiments and praises and memories that are bringing young people back to church.

Such as this song by Chris Tomlin–

The splendor of the King, clothed in majesty
Let all the earth rejoice
All  the earth rejoice

He wraps himself in Light, and darkness tries to  hide
And trembles at His voice
Trembles at His voice

How great is  our God, sing with me
How great is our God, and all will see
How great,  how great is our God

How can a Christian not adore the words to that song? It has so much meaning, such deep-down, heart-felt worship of the King!

My absolute favorite that we sing today is Revelation Song. Do you know it?

http://vimeo.com/5435204

But the memories that are part of the beautiful old songs can never be matched. Mom had a beautiful alto voice, and sometimes I can hear her singing when we’re in church. I can sing alto, too, when I hear Mama sing. 🙂

Here’s Mom’s favorite–

Amazing Grace, how sweet  the sound,
That saved a wretch like me….
I once was lost but now am found,
Was  blind, but now, I see.

When we’ve  been here ten thousand years…
bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less  days to sing God’s praise…
then when we’ve first begun.

And the “Thank You, Jesus!” reunion party will go on! And on! AND ON!!!

So . . . what’s your favorite?

 

 

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

14 thoughts on “The Party Will Go On!

  1. I love the old hymns too, and loved hearing Mom sing! I miss her voice!
    Trust and Obey has always been a favorite of mine! Can you hear Mama singing?

  2. On Christ the solid rock I stand all other ground is sinking sand All other ground is sinking sand.

    • My hope is built on nothing less
      Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
      I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
      But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name.

      Amen, Sister!
      Love you so much!!!

  3. Being a singer and leading Christian singing a lot, my favorite changes almost as often as the song changes. Being raised in the church and going all my life I have many songs lyrics memorized. I don’t think these next generations are going to know all those precious songs and it makes me sad. Back to the subject of favorite I think one of Bill and Gloria Gaither’s songs has meant the most to our generation is “Because He Lives”. Bill says he thinks it’s their song that has meant the most to so many Christians. Their contributation to Christian music is huge.

    • Singing those beautiful songs runs in the family, doesn’t it, Bea? I think most of my sibs and I have been on worship teams. Just imagine what it’ll be like to sing His praises when we see Him face to face!

  4. I have a blues version of “I’ll Fly Away” that I think might be my absolute favorite. I also love “When the Saints Go Marching In”, “Will the Circle Be Unbroken” and “Lay My Burden Down.”

    When my granny got too forgetful to live alone, her kids began discussing putting her in a home, which she did NOT want, so she would putter around the house singing “Precious Memories” at the topof her lungs. In our church, that was mostly a funeral song, so it gave my aunts great fits of guilt!

    • Boy you had a smart granny. So finish the story. Did she end up in a home or living with one of her kiddos? (I’m betting on the kiddo.)

      • Sadly, she ended up in the home. Neither of my aunts could take her due to issues of their own, and we didn’t have an inch of room to spare in our house. Having been a country girl all her life, the idea of nearby neighbors was pretty new to her, and she likes being able to walk out in the hall and find people to talk with. She ended up pretty happy there.

  5. Our mama kept Grandma with her until she passed, BUT she said she wanted to go to a nursing home when her time came. I told her that her children would fight to get her to stay with us.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

