Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

A Smile For the Weekend

Leave a comment

A couple of weeks ago, G-Man, Sisters Debbie, Cindy and I went to Grand Junction. To get there, we passed through Denver, where we first found mountains. (I love mountains, don’t you?)

Surprisingly, even though it was early afternoon, the road to the mountains was bumper to bumper much of the way. Turned out to be a good thing, though, because we moved slow enough for me to get this on my phone.

Can you tell what it is? Yes, it’s a car with a bike rack on the back (we ran into saw bikes everywhere we went for the next several hundred miles) but can you tell what’s on top and dribbled down the side?

Here’s another view.

I’ll bet you can see it now, can’t you? The car was owned by a paint company (I tried to get the sign on the side of the car, but I can’t read it now.) So clever!

I’m not sure how an advertiser’s mind works, but I think it would be wonderful to brainstorm with the guy who came up with this idea. It made me–and probably lots of other people–smile for a long, long way.

In case you still can’t see it, here it is, up close and personal.

See? It’s a paint can with a brush left in it. Looks as if they were painting the garage, using the top of the car to set the can on, then got a call and had to rush away, which caused paint to splash down the side of the car.

Of course, weird brain that I have, I started imagining what would cause the driver to take off in such a hurry.

Riiiing . . .

“Your wife is in labor. GET HERE NOW!”

Or how about

“Close out sale. Buy one new car, get one free! While quantites last.”

How about it? Do you have any ideas?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

