Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Hot Pursuits

6 Comments

Anybody notice how hot it is outside? (Snort) Temps in our Small Town World are supposed to be three digits this week–110, 111, 112. Yikes! That’s hot.

I think I have oven temps that match. Well, nearly.

So when Little Bit wants a little outdoor time, we both wear out fast. The first thing he says when we get outside is, “Hot.”

He likes to go across the street and see the concrete statues, but they’re too hot to touch these days.

He’s learned that word really well. So we take little walks to a store. We love to go to Celebrations because 1- they have toys and 2-they have candy and 3-it smells good in there. 🙂

He also like to wear the merchandise.

This hat is for sale. But Deegan loves hats, so he tries it on. Trouble is, it’s hard and is a decoration, not really to be worn. Somehow, he keeps it on his head.

The crown is a toy that Deanna keeps for kids to play with. I know, it’s a princess crown. And that’s a truck he’s playing with. The boy is multi-talented, isn’t he?

The only trouble with taking Deegers for walks these days (besides it being to hot to breathe outside) is that he’s figured out he’s faster than I am. At least, he can run faster than I want to.

I usually get him stopped. At least I haven’t lost him yet. Too bad I can’t think of something for him to do outside that he’ll enjoy that’s a sit still thing.

I taught my kids how to use a magnifying glass to set stuff on fire when they were a little older than him, and it kept them happily occupied for a few days without me having to chase around in the heat. But with the lack of rain we’ve had this year, I believe we’ll wait to teach him that one. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Hot Pursuits

  1. Love the hat and the crown, what a little cowboy, princess LOL. Peace Jaz

  2. Get him a little plastic pool.

    • That’s a great idea! It’d probably get stolen and I’d die of the heat because there’s NO WAY I’m wearing a swimsuit where people can see me. (Oy!)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

