Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

☺Mama’s Birthday☺

25 Comments

What were you doing eighty-one years ago today? 😉 Okay, you probably weren’t a glimmer yet.

Eighty-one years ago, my grandma was having a baby. A beautiful baby with black hair and big eyes. Many years later, that baby became my mama. 🙂

She’ll probably smack me when I get to heaven for telling her age. She used to say, “A woman who’ll tell her age will tell anything.” (She also told me, “If you don’t start lying about your age, I’ll have to stop lying about mine. LOL.)

This is Mama.

And this–

Mama at about 14 or 15–(Holding Cousin Liz.)

And this is Mama, all grown up. Or maybe it’s her senior picture. I’m not sure. 🙂 But that was pretty close to grown up. She got married three or four months later.

When I was a kid, once a month Mama went to Birthday Club. I’ve never known exactly what it was about, but several women here in C-Town would go out and eat. The women whose birthday month it was got a gift.

I hated that night. Not because Dad took care of us (Grandmother, next door, was always available to help) but because it was a part of Mama’s life I couldn’t be part of, too. (Aren’t kids weird?)

By the time I was an adult, the women were celebrating Birthday Club at individuals’ swimming pools around town. I never was a part of it, even though other women my age were, because by that time I loved it that Mom had something that was hers alone.

Funny how we change, isn’t it?

Today is Mama’s birthday, and a different Birthday Club will be celebrating. The BC at work goes out once a month, and for July, we’re celebrating today. We’re supposed to be telling Mendy and Rick HBD, but in my heart (and many of the people who’ll be there–Jeffrey, Amy, Kyle, Laura, Hope, Faith, Mallory and with luck, Deb) we’re celebrating Mama.

We’re having Mexican Food–Mom’s favorite. 🙂

And we’ll have a great time!

Happy birthday, Mama. We love you!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

25 thoughts on “☺Mama’s Birthday☺

  1. Happy Birthday, Mama, love you as much or more than ever.

    I’ll be celebrating Moms birthday at VBS, with about 115 kids!!!

    Thanks for posting her pics, she was a gorgeous lady.

  2. I loved Birthday Club! I love Mary Sue! Half of Birthday Club is meeting in Heaven. God bless them all, especially Mary Sue, the Birthday Girl! (and I bet her hair is still black!)

    My goodness, but her early years are Amy, made over!!!

    • Amy? AMY??? Wow. I don’t see Amy at all. The first picture looks just like Debbie when she was that age.
      I hope Mom’s hair is black. I hated it when she went blond. So glad when she reverted. 😉

  3. Happy Birthday, Mary Sue! Your beautiful blue eyes are making Heaven a more gorgeous place. Your love & kindness lives on in your children and all your family. 🙂

  4. This is what I think: First pic, Lisa (and maybe a little bit Jeff). Second pic..VERY Cindy. Third pic…Debbie (especially expression). Then the last pic I thought of you Susan. Then I looked through all the pics again and the last pic I saw Amy. I wasn’t even trying to fit all six of you in to the pics. I guess that proves there is some of Mary Sue in each of you. And that is a good thing! LL

    • Isn’t it funny how everyone sees something different in a picture?
      To me, though, the biggest and best compliment wouldn’t be that I looked like Mom. It would be that I have her heart. That was beautiful!
      I’m going to have to post some pictures of Deb when she was the age of Mom’s first picture. It’s Deb–for sure! 🙂

  5. I thought the first one looked like Amy too. I even thought one of them looked like Faith. I’m with Lori though I think all of you have a little bit of Mary Sue in you. I would never have realized this would be her 81st BD, to me she will be forever young.

  6. Thinking of Mary Sue with much fondness. At first, I thought, she can’t be talking about her Mother, being 81. She isn’t that age in our memory, much younger.:) Nice tribute on her birthday!

  7. Susan, You certainly do look most like your Mom and Debbie is second! She always tried to make me feel special when I was with her, I guess that is why we all loved her! Jeff looks like his Uncle Robert and his Dad and that is a good thing!!

  8. We can all see what Daddy saw in her, even at a young age! I see Debbie in pic #1 and a little of Ashley in the pic of Mom with Liz!
    My desiire is to have a heart that mirrors hers too, altho it always makes me happy when someone says I look like her.

    • I’m amazed at what people see in this pictures. Interesting, isn’t it? It makes me happy when someone says I act like her . . . although that doesn’t happen often.
      🙂

  9. I’ve always thought you looked like your mama. She was beautiful, and you were blessed to have her.

    • I remember Bob seeing that picture I have of Mom, Deb and me and asking who the little girls are with me in that picture.
      Best compliment he ever gave me. 🙂

  10. Happy Birthday Mary Sue….you left a wonderful legacy here on earth. I’ve told you before how our Mom (Nola May Mitchell Fisher) would tease Mary Sue and Carol about having as many kids as she did. They got pretty close…you just needed 3 more sisters. Mary Sue could handle all you kids because of her laid back attitude, she didn’t fret about the small stuff. She wasn’t one to worry about every little thing. She knew what was important and what wasn’t. She loved Carol first
    and the whole family felt blessed to have her and her abundant energy.
    Both of our families were so blessed to have our Christian Mothers to bring us up in the way should go.

    • Very true, Bea. She loved Daddy first, but only after God. She led Daddy to the Lord and the rest of us, too.
      We are so very blessed to have Christian mothers!

  11. I don’t know why that silly cartoon is my profile picture. Had trouble with that several weeks ago.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

