Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Pirate Day

Leave a comment

Does reading about the shooting in Aurora hurt your heart as much as mine? The more I read about it, the more I cry. (Just call me Tears Aplenty.)

So today, I’m going to talk about something totally scattered and frivolous. PIRATE DAY!

I’m not referring to “Talk Like a Pirate Day” . (Tips tricorn hat to #1 Son.)

TLAPD is still 57 days away. I’m talking about my favorite movie channel, Turner Classic Movies, showing pirate movies today.

Woohoo!

I have to work, but I’ve set several to record. (Hope there’s room on the DVR.) Right now, CAPTAIN KIDD is on, starring a yummy Randolph Scott when he was really, really young, and Charles Laughton, who probably didn’t have a yummy day in his life, but was still a good actor. 🙂

I’m amazed to learn there are so many pirate-y, sailing ship movies. Some are my all time favorites, such as Captain Horatio Hornblower with Gregory Peck. I drool over the characters he plays.

And of course, several of those movies star Errol Flynn. Everyone knows Errol was from Australia, but did you know he was born in Tasmania? 🙂 I wonder if they called him The Tasmanian Devil? 😉

Arlie, a deceased friend of my dad’s, was a pilot for Transworld or American or some airline in his heyday, and he claimed to know Errol. The actor like to sit in the copilot’s seat on long trips.

Arlie said he’d gotten to know Errol so well, he’d stay on the guy’s yacht with him from time to time. He said Errol loved women, and Arlie loved being around to catch any extras that floated by.

Do you enjoy a good, old fashioned, romping movie without foul language or extraneous sex? Pop over to the Turner channel today and enjoy. (Or be like me and record.)

So far, I’m loving it. 😛

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

