Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Monument Moments

4 Comments

Want to see some of the pictures from the Colorado National Monument? I hope so, ’cause here they are.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Isn’t it beautiful? Imagine living with that in your back yard. I could handle that–if they could move those mountains to Okie-Land.

We had a ton of fun driving through the monument. Sister Debbie and I both have a slight problem with heights. So much that we leaned away from the sheer drop offs along the road as if we could keep the car from going over.

Our toes tingled when we got close to the edge of a lookout. (I felt like crawling, but I didn’t. Really, I didn’t!) Sometimes our toes tingled all the way to our armpits!

Even though one of our shirttail relatives thinks Sister Debbie is shy (clearing my throat) I found her chatting up a couple of strangers while I was trying to get this little guy’s autograph.

That couple wanted us to take their picture and make it look “like a postcard.” Then they took ours.

If you notice, Deb is leaning ever so slightly away from the drop off.

I took their picture with their camera (makes sense, doesn’t it?) but I caught a picture of their motorcycle for you. Isn’t it cute?

Cute bike, isn’t it? They were from Texas–clear down around Galveston. I hope they didn’t ride that motorcycle that far, but they could have. (Hurts me to think about.)

Pretty soon, this group came tooling up.

I think they rode all the way there on those bikes, and probably camped out at night. One of that crew caught me drooling and taking pictures of the bikes instead of the million dollar scenery behind me. “I like your cycle,” I gasped.

He thought I was pretty funny.

There were men and women riding the Harleys from several different states, including Okie-Land and Missouri.

I loved this tag–

Cool bike, cool tag. Can you read it?

Love it!

I asked the couple on the white bike if they were with the crew on the Harleys. They weren’t. 🙂 But they could have been. The cycles made for some entertaining Monument Moments.

When we were all looking over a precipice that gave Deb and me tingles at least to our knees, we noticed a couple of huge birds sailing below us.

Yes, they were LOWER than we were, and gliding on the air currents. Gives me a tingle just thinking about it. Anyway, one of the biker women said, “I believe they’re California Condors.”

G-Man snorted as we went down the steps to get even closer to the edge. “They’re plain old vultures.”

Vultures? Ugly birds with red heads that like eating carrion–dead stuff. That made me think of G-Man’s show he watches–“I Killed My Wife, and Here’s How I did It.” Okay, that’s not really the title, but it should be. It’s really 20-20 or Dateline or something.

“This reminds me of some of those shows you watch,” I told him. “You know, where the husband tosses the wife off the cliff, then tells the cops she slipped.”

He nodded, telling me he remembered it. (Sometimes G-Man’s a man of few words, so I’ve learned to read his nods.)

I looked way, way down, past those gliding birds, all the way to the ground so far below us. As I did, I started tingling clear up to my shoulders.

“Uh, Gary? Don’t you think we ought to go?”

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Monument Moments

  1. I think we may be kin to each other. Feel same way about heights. I have to close my eyes when they show all those pictures on TV that swoop down all those huge buildings and other places. If I get close to a tall ledge I can feel myself sliding over it. Beautiful pictures….it sounds like you four had a good time. I realized by looking at your Reeves picture that the only one I really knew was Joe and Louise Reeves….except for Mary Sue of course. Enjoy your thoughts.

    • Oh, yeah. We’re kin, all right. I claim kin to anyone who has a heights problem. (I’d claim you even if you didn’t have my problem.)
      The Reeves Clan is an interesting bunch. I wish you could have known them.
      Do you remember Mrs. Lambertson from the Ford? She’s Mom’s just older sister’s mother-in-law. If you remember her, you almost knew them. 🙂

  2. I remember Robert and Carol, and of course Mary Sue and Joe! They are such a beautiful family!

    • Hi Sue. I’m surprised you remember Robert and Carol . . . but come to think of it, they’re kind of unforgettable. 🙂
      They are a beautiful fam–and a pretty nice one, too. Glad you thought so.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

