Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Camera Catastrophe–Almost

6 Comments

After several days of tearing out my hair and banging my head on my desk as I tried to wrangle the sisters’ and my own schedules so we could fly to our aunt’s funeral, Dad (who probably got tired of the wailing coming from my office) encouraged us to drive.

But for some reason, he didn’t want us to drive alone. He might have been afraid we’d start shopping somewhere along the way and never get there. Or he might have been worried we’d find a cool old house and set up residence or even just keep on driving and never come home. I’m not sure why he thought we needed a man with us.

Naturally, I volunteered G-Man to be the guy at the wheel. We drove to Hays the first night, then on into Grand Junction the next.

I’ve learned a couple of things about the Spess Girls (at least the first three) on this trip.

  1. We’re fairly easy to travel with as long as you don’t let us get too hungry. (And with the travel snacks we packed, there was no danger in that.)
  2. We all inherited the gotta-take-a-picture-of-this gene.

When we got to the mountains, we all yanked out our cameras and started shooting out of the car windows. Here’s the picture I got.

I must have had an odd look on my face, because Sister Cindy pointed at my camera. “Oh, no. Look!”

Here’s what she saw.

At first, I was sick at my stomach. A trip to Colorado, and a broken lens was putting my camera out of commission. But I looked a little closer and saw it wasn’t the lens that was broken, but a protective thingy (I’m sure it has a name, but I don’t remember what it was) that was on my lens. I unscrewed it and was able to use my camera.

That’s when I remembered the strap of my camera bag slipping through my fingers. The bag is kind of a shield shape, with the lens end of the camera pointing down. When it hit the floor, that protective thingy must have shattered.

Time for a new bag!

This is everyday scenry for some Colorado folks. Imagine living where you had wonder-mountains like these, protecting you all the time. I could handle that!

As we drove, we were rained on several times! At first we were curious as to what that wet stuff, falling from the sky could be. Then G-Man, with his super memory, remembered. “I think it’s called rain.”

We immediately pulled the car over, got out and all four of us danced for joy in the downpour. Okay, not really. But in our hearts, we were dancing! 😉

Something else I learned on this trip–If you’re going to take pictures through the windows of your car, you should CLEAN said windows before shooting. This would have been a fantastic picture if it weren’t for the raindrop spots showing up.

And one last thing I learned–this one about me. I like to take pictures in tunnels. No, I don’t know why. It’s probably some dark, psychological thing and I don’t really want to know.

I like taking pictures of the light at the end of the tunnel best of all. Maybe because reminds me of the Happily Ever After in a good book.

  🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Camera Catastrophe–Almost

  1. Something else we learned, no longer can we drink 32 oz drinks & ‘hold it’ like we used to. Maybe that’s why Dad wanted a man along, we might never have made it with all the potty stops! I know Gary would have stopped as often as we asked, but for some reason (I think several trips with Dad) we respectfully don’t ask a guy to stop too often. 😉

  2. “Then G-Man, with his super memory, remembered. “I think it’s called rain.”
    Thanks Heaven for G-Menz. 🙂

  3. So your codpiece isn’t very protective after all…

  4. I know. That woman told me it was the B-E-S-T bag out there, and she didn’t even sell it to me. Weird.
    I’ll bet a backpack bag would be super protective.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

