Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Picture the Celebration

6 Comments

We survived the celebration! (Yay!) One son and his honey were AWOL, but the other four came to our Small Town World.

The fried chicken, corn and ice cream came out tasting close to what Mama used to make, and we had perfect tabouli. Thanks, Matt!

And we had fireworks. In fact, fireworks were going off all over our Small Town World, and I just happen to have a few to share with you.

These were Roman Candles. No RC wars for my kiddos, thanks.

 I thought this was pretty cool. Wish I’d videoed it. I think it could have been a scene from Star Trek.

I liked the double blast in this one. 🙂

I learned some interesting things while taking these pics. I’ve probably read about them in the past, but until I experienced them they didn’t really register.

Shooting pictures of fireworks is unlike taking normal pictures. The lens stays open, so you have to brace yourself to keep the camera from wiggling. I leaned against the truck and held my elbows in tight against my sides and still had some shake. I did better than last year, though.

If they stay on the ground like this–

–or this, it wasn’t too hard for me. Just set the lens to stay open and try not to shake.

The ones that go into the air and those you don’t expect are a little harder. You never really know where in the sky they’re going to explode.

And rockets that are a little ways off are easier to get than the ones right in front of you. If I saw the starting fizzle, I could open the lens, follow the light trail into the sky and get there for the flash.

I tried that with the ones in front of me, and it didn’t work. For those, I had to just aim up and hope I got the lens to open in time. This one was right overhead.

 Next year, maybe I’ll use a tripod.

This is my favorite FWP.

 The blast came from down the street, and it was pretty but that’s not my favorite thing about it. On the left of the flash, you can see the bright outline and dark impression of G-Man’s truck. On the right side of the blast is the silhouette of the old oak tree in our front yard.

I like that.

Did you have time to grab your camera on the 4th? Did you share your pictures anywhere? All hints and suggestions for improvement are welcome!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Picture the Celebration

  1. You should invest in a tripod. The shake will be gone, for the most part, and you can enjoy the show without seeing it through a lens. 🙂 I mainly use mine when there’s going to be a group picture and I want to be in the picture. Set the timer and run. 🙂

  2. A tripod with a cable release is the ticket for your night shots. No movement and you are not actually touching the camera.

  3. Great pictures, Susan. I especially like the last one. And no, I didn’t take any pictures so I’ll just enjoy yours. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

